Claire Savoie

Biography

Since 2006, Claire Savoie has been creating, among others, the ongoing work Aujourd’hui (dates‑vidéos), which consists of producing daily videos according to a specific protocol, of which more than 1200 have so far been made. She has exhibited her works in Quebec and abroad since 1984. They include Installations à grande échelle, presented at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (Quebec City, 2016), Aujourd’hui (dates‑vidéos) at SBC Gallery of Contemporary Art as part of the Mois de la photo à Montréal (2011), Maintenant at the Musée régional de Rimouski (2007), 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (dates-vidéos) at VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine (Montreal, 2007), Avancer dans le brouillard at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2004), and Le ludique at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2001) as well as at the Musée d’art moderne Lille Métropole (France, 2003).

Exhibition

Period rooms. 8 art experimentations,
24 historic interiors
2019.06.12 – 10.20

Curated by Marie J. Jean, this event presents experimentations by seven contemporary artists—Steve Bates, Thomas Bégin, Pierre Dorion, Frédérick Gravel, Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn, Jocelyn Robert, and Claire Savoie—in the period interiors of the Château Dufresne, the Château Ramezay, Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal, the Sir George-Étienne Cartier residence, and the Guido Molinari Foundation. Concurrently, at VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine, Klaus Scherübel has produced an art intervention that employs the period room format to reconstitute two exhibitions organized in 1947 by the Automatist artists.

Read more

Exhibition | Château Dufresne. Musée et lieu historique patrimonial

Exhibition

Time as Activity (*)
2009.12.09 - 07.11

While nowadays, ‘documentation’ has widely been accepted and understood as one of the main paradigms of conceptual art, there has only been few attention for the ‘description’—especially considering how intrinsic this activity…

Read more

Exhibition

Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 - 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos)
2007.01.20 - 03.03

For some years now, the work of Claire Savoie has deployed a poetics of grazing and dizziness. Paradoxically, the artist has mapped out the…

Read more

Publication

I am telling you that I am incapable of ending this activity. Claire Savoie

This first monograph devoted to the work of Claire Savoie documents and analyzes her videographic output as well as recent and older installations…

Read more

Exhibition

Species of Spaces
2003.06.19 - 08.17

Each of us is limited by the space in which we live. Its shapes, brought into being by walls, houses, buildings, streets, cities, and suburbs…

Read more

Publication

Species of Spaces

Each of us is limited by the space in which we live. Its shapes, brought into being by walls, houses, buildings, streets, cities, and suburbs, order our movements and situate us in a precise setting. Space is thus made up of divisions…

Read more

Claire Savoie

Biographie

Depuis 2006, Claire Savoie se consacre notamment à la création de l’œuvre évolutive Aujourd’hui (dates‑vidéos), qui consiste à réaliser des vidéos de façon quotidienne selon un protocole précis. À ce jour, elle comprend plus de mille deux cents capsules. Depuis 1984, les œuvres de l’artiste ont été présentées au Québec et à l’étranger. Parmi elles, on compte, entre autres, Installations à grande échelle, qui a été exposée au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (Québec, 2016), Aujourd’hui (dates‑vidéos) à SBC galerie d’art contemporain durant le Mois de la photo à Montréal (Canada, 2011), Maintenant au Musée régional de Rimouski (Canada, 2007), 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (dates-vidéos) à VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine (Montréal, 2007), Avancer dans le brouillard au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (Canada, 2004) et Le ludique au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (Canada, 2001), puis au Musée d’art moderne Lille Métropole (France, 2003).

Exposition

Period rooms. 8 expérimentations artistiques, 24 intérieurs historiques
2019.06.12 – 10.20

Sous le commissariat de Marie J. Jean, cette manifestation artistique présente les expérimentations de sept artistes contemporains – Steve Bates, Thomas Bégin, Pierre Dorion, Frédérick Gravel, Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn, Jocelyn Robert et Claire Savoie – dans les intérieurs d’époque du Château Dufresne, du Château Ramezay, de l’Oratoire Saint-Joseph du Mont-Royal, de la demeure de sir George-Étienne Cartier et de la Fondation Guido Molinari. En parallèle, Klaus Scherübel réalise à VOX une intervention artistique qui, sous la forme de period rooms, reconstitue deux expositions organisées en 1947 par les artistes automatistes.

Lire plus

Exposition | Château Dufresne. Musée et lieu historique patrimonial

Exposition

Time as Activity (*)
2009.12.09 - 07.11

Si la ‘documentation’ est un des paradigmes qui a servi de fondement à l’art conceptuel, on s’est encore peu intéressé à la ‘description’, pourtant inhérente aux œuvres de plusieurs artistes conceptuels des années 1960 et 1970…

Lire plus

Exposition

Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 - 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos)
2007.01.20 - 03.03

Depuis quelques années, le travail de Claire Savoie met en place une poétique de l’effleurement et du vertige. Paradoxalement, l’artiste…

Lire plus

Publication

Je te dis que suis incapable de clore l'exercice. Claire Savoie

Cette première monographie consacrée à la pratique artistique de Claire Savoie documente et analyse ses travaux vidéographiques et ses installations récentes et antérieures…

Lire plus

Exposition

Des espèces d'espaces
2003.06.19 - 08.17

Chacun de nous est circonscrit par son espace de vie. Ses configurations, matérialisées par les murs, les habitations, les édifices, les rues…

Lire plus

Publication

Des espèces d'espaces

Chacun de nous est circonscrit par son espace de vie. Ses configurations, matérialisées par les murs, les habitations, les édifices, les rues, les villes, les banlieues, ordonnent nos déplacements et nous situent dans un contexte précis…

Lire plus