Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn

Biography

Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn’s art encompasses a wide array of processes based on her research, informed by feminist theory, which she applies to investigations of issues of historicity, community, utopian policies and multiculturalism. She aims to reveal the unnoticed political relevance of seemingly trivial historical anecdotes by shedding a unique light on stories deemed otherwise insignificant. Nguyễn is currently a PhD candidate in the Art, Technology and Design program of the Konstfack and KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Stockholm, Sweden). She previously completed the Whitney Independent Study Program (New York, 2011), obtained an MFA and post-graduate diploma in Critical Studies at the Malmö Art Academy (Sweden, 2005), and graduated with a BFA from Concordia University (Montreal, 2003). Her work has been shown in such venues as the Sharjah Art Foundation (United Arab Emirates, 2018), the Cantor Fitzgerald Gallery (Philadelphia, 2018), MAMA (Rotterdam, 2018), SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin, 2017), EFA Project Space (New York, 2016), Mercer Union (Toronto, 2015), as part of the BNL MTL at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2014), at Kunstverein Braunschweig (Brunswick, Germany, 2013), and at Apexart (New York, 2013).

Exhibition

Period rooms. 8 art experimentations,
24 historic interiors
2019.06.12 – 10.20

Curated by Marie J. Jean, this event presents experimentations by seven contemporary artists—Steve Bates, Thomas Bégin, Pierre Dorion, Frédérick Gravel, Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn, Jocelyn Robert, and Claire Savoie—in the period interiors of the Château Dufresne, the Château Ramezay, Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal, the Sir George-Étienne Cartier residence, and the Guido Molinari Foundation. Concurrently, at VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine, Klaus Scherübel has produced an art intervention that employs the period room format to reconstitute two exhibitions organized in 1947 by the Automatist artists.

Read more

Exhibition| Château Ramezay. Historic Site and Museum in Montréal

Exhibition

Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen. Space Fiction & the Archives
2012.11.02 - 12.15

This exhibition by Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen is a time portal that transports us to St. Paul in 1967…

Read more

Exhibition

Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy
2014.09.11 - 11.01

Between 1967 and 1980 the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) created an unparalleled effort between government bureaucrats, documentary filmmakers, community activists and “common” citizens…

Read more

Event

Discussion with Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen
2014.11.01

Join us as of 11 am on Saturday, November 1st, for Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle‘s finissage. After a screening of all ten films selected by Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen, stay with us from 3:30 to 5:00 pm for an intimate discussion with her. 

Read more

Interview

Interview with Jaqueline Hoang Nguyen during the exhibition Space Fiction & the Archives.

See interview

Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn

Biographie

Utilisant un large éventail de procédés, la pratique de Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn se fonde sur une recherche que l’artiste applique, dans la perspective de la théorie féministe, aux questions d’historicité, de collectivités, de politiques utopiques et de multiculturalisme. Elle vise à révéler la pertinence politique d’anecdotes anciennes passées inaperçues ou jugées anodines en les exploitant sous un jour nouveau. Nguyễn est actuellement candidate au doctorat au programme d’art, technologie et design du Konstfack et du KTH Royal Institute of Technology (Stockholm, Suède). Elle a auparavant étudié au Whitney Independent Study Program (New York, États-Unis, 2011), a obtenu sa maîtrise et un diplôme en études critiques à la Malmö Art Academy (Suède, 2005) et a complété un baccalauréat en beaux-arts à l’Université Concordia (Montréal, 2003). Son travail a notamment été exposé au Sharjah Art Foundation (Émirats arabes unis, 2018), à la Cantor Fitzgerald Gallery (Philadelphie, États-Unis, 2018), au MAMA (Rotterdam, Pays-Bas, 2018), à la SAVVY Contemporary (Berlin, Allemagne, 2017), au EFA Project Space (New York, États-Unis, 2016), à la Mercer Union (Toronto, 2015), durant la BNL MTL au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (Canada, 2014), à la Kunstverein Braunschweig (Brunswick, Allemagne, 2013) et à Apexart (New York, États-Unis, 2013).

Exposition

Period rooms. 8 expérimentations artistiques, 24 intérieurs historiques
2019.06.12 – 10.20

Sous le commissariat de Marie J. Jean, cette manifestation artistique présente les expérimentations de sept artistes contemporains – Steve Bates, Thomas Bégin, Pierre Dorion, Frédérick Gravel, Jacqueline Hoàng Nguyễn, Jocelyn Robert et Claire Savoie – dans les intérieurs d’époque du Château Dufresne, du Château Ramezay, de l’Oratoire Saint-Joseph du Mont-Royal, de la demeure de sir George-Étienne Cartier et de la Fondation Guido Molinari. En parallèle, Klaus Scherübel réalise à VOX une intervention artistique qui, sous la forme de period rooms, reconstitue deux expositions organisées en 1947 par les artistes automatistes.

Lire plus

Exposition| Château Ramezay. Musée et site historique de Montréal

Exposition

Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle: Documents in Participatory Democracy
2014.09.11 - 11.01

De 1967 à 1980, l’Office national du film (ONF) a mis en place une démarche sans précédent réunissant des fonctionnaires, des réalisateurs de documentaires, des activistes communautaires et des citoyens…

Lire plus

Exposition

Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen. Space Fiction & the Archives
2012.11.02 - 12.15

Cette exposition de Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen est un « portail temporel » qui nous transporte dans la petite ville de Saint-Paul, en Alberta…

Lire plus

Événement

Discussion avec Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen
2014.11.01

Dans le cadre du finissage de Challenge for Change / Société Nouvelle, rendez-vous dès 11 h le samedi 1er novembre pour un visionnement en rafale des dix films sélectionnés par Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen. Restez des nôtres de 15 h 30 à 17 h pour une rencontre-discussion.

Lire plus

Entretien

Entretien avec Jacqueline Hoang Nguyen dans le cadre de l’exposition Space Fiction & The Archives.

Voir l’entretien