Normand Thériault

Biography

Art critic for La Presse newspaper, professor at UQAM, curator of contemporary art at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Normand Thériault is also known for his contributions as an editor and as an independent curator for the Institut d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Centre international d’art contemporain de Montréal, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the National Gallery of Canada, the Vancouver Art Gallery, etc. He has also been a consultant for various Canadian and Québécois ministries, as well as for different arts councils. His writings have been featured in many catalogues and art magazines, both locally and internationally. He concluded his career as assistant director and assistant editor in chief at Le Devoir newspaper.

An important figure of the cultural scene in Quebec, he has examined the great transformations of contemporary art from the late 1960s to the 1990s. The exhibitions and events that he has organized feature, among others, La peinture au Québec : 1948-1978 (Terre des Hommes, 1970); Québec 71, où en sommes-nous? (Centre culturel de Vaudreuil, 1971); Les moins de 35 (Montreal, Quebec, Trois-Rivières, 1973); Québec Underground (Montreal, 1973); Canada Trajectoires 73 (ARC 2, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, 1973); Québec 75 / Arts, Cinéma, Vidéo (Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, 1975); Tendances actuelles (Centre Culturel Canadien à Paris, 1977); Charles Gagnon (Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, 1978); Hier & après (Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, 1980); Claude Tousignant : Sculptures (Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, 1982), and Aurora Borealis (Centre international d’art contemporain de Montréal, 1985).

Event

Discussion with Thierry de Duve, Chantal Pontbriand and Normand Thériault
2019.03.21

VOX invites you to a discussion around the issues raised by the documentary reactivation of 03 23 03 (1977). This roundtable moderated by Marie J. Jean will bring together historian and philosopher of art Thierry de Duve with two of the original exhibition’s organizers, Chantal Pontbriand and Normand Thériault. Admission is free, but seats are limited!

Read more

Exhibition

“Créer à rebours vers l’exposition”: The case of 03 23 03
2019.02.15 - 04.27

Continuing its research into the practice, history and future of exhibitions and their documentation, VOX presents the fifth in its series of documentary exhibitions, dedicated this time to the event 03 23 03 – First International Encounter on Contemporary Art in Montreal, 1977. Organized by France Morin, Chantal Pontbriand and Normand Thériault and presented in a disused post office, this major event included an exhibition, a series of performances, and debates.

Read more

Exhibition

“Créer à rebours vers l’exposition”: The case of Aurora Borealis
2016.11.18 -2017.03.18

This first-ever documentary exhibition dedicated to Aurora Borealis (1985) is the first step in a far-reaching research project by VOX on the history and the future of exhibitions in Quebec, which we plan to conduct until 2020.

Read more

Normand Thériault

Biographie

Critique d’art au journal La Presse, professeur à l’UQAM, conservateur de l’art contemporain au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Normand Thériault a aussi agi à titre d’éditeur et de commissaire indépendant pour l’Institut d’art contemporain de Montréal, le Centre international d’art contemporain de Montréal, le Musée national des beaux-arts de Québec, le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et la Vancouver Art Gallery, etc. Il a également été expert-conseil auprès de divers ministères canadien et québécois, de même que différents conseils des arts. Ses textes ont été publiés dans de nombreux catalogues et revues d’art d’ici et d’ailleurs. Il a conclu sa carrière comme directeur adjoint et rédacteur en chef adjoint au journal Le Devoir.

Figure importante de la scène culturelle québécoise, il a observé les grandes mutations de la contemporanéité artistique de la fin des années 1960 aux années 1990. Parmi les expositions et évènements qu’il a organisés, mentionnons La peinture au Québec : 1948-1978 (Terre des Hommes, 1970); Québec 71, où en sommes-nous? (Centre culturel de Vaudreuil, 1971); Les moins de 35 (Montréal, Québec, Trois-Rivières, 1973); Québec Underground (Montréal, 1973); Canada Trajectoires 73 (ARC 2, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, 1973); Québec 75 / Arts, Cinéma, Vidéo (Musée d’art contemporain, Montréal, 1975); Tendances actuelles (Centre Culturel Canadien à Paris, 1977); Charles Gagnon (Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, 1978); Hier & après (Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal,1980); Claude Tousignant : Sculptures (Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, 1982) et Aurora Borealis (Centre international d’art contemporain de Montréal, 1985).

Événement

Discussion avec Thierry de Duve, Chantal Pontbriand et Normand Thériault
2019.03.21

VOX vous convie à une discussion autour des enjeux soulevés par sa réactivation documentaire de 03 23 03 (1977). Cette table ronde animée par Marie J. Jean rassemblera le théoricien de l’art Thierry de Duve et deux des trois organisateurs de l’exposition d’origine, Chantal Pontbriand et Normand Thériault. Entrée libre, mais places limitées !

Lire plus

Exposition

Créer à rebours vers l'exposition : le cas de 03 23 03
2019.02.15 - 04.27

Poursuivant les recherches entreprises sur la pratique, l’histoire, le devenir des expositions et leur documentation, VOX présente une cinquième exposition documentaire consacrée, cette fois-ci, à l’événement 03 23 03 – Premières rencontres internationales d’art contemporain de Montréal, 1977. Organisée par France Morin, Chantal Pontbriand et Normand Thériault dans un ancien bureau de poste, cette manifestation artistique incluait une exposition, un programme de performances et une série de débats.

Lire plus

Exposition

Créer à rebours vers l’exposition : le cas d’Aurora Borealis
2016.11.18 - 2017.03.18

Cette première exposition documentaire consacrée à Aurora Borealis (1985) se présente comme l’amorce d’un vaste chantier de recherche sur l’histoire et le devenir des expositions au Québec que nous mènerons à VOX jusqu’en 2020.

Lire plus