Thierry de Duve

Biography

Historian and philosopher of art Thierry de Duve is Evelyn Kranes Kossak Professor at Hunter College, City University of New York, and Emeritus from the Université de Lille 3. He has been Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa from 1982 to 1990. He is the author of many books on art and on the aesthetic of modernity, which include Nominalisme pictural : Marcel Duchamp, la peinture et la modernité (Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1984); Au nom de l’art : Pour une archéologie de la modernité (Paris: Les Éditions de Minuit, 1989); Résonances du readymade (Paris: Les éditions Fayard, 1989); Cousus de fil d’or : Beuys, Warhol, Klein, Duchamp (Villeurbanne: Art Édition, 1990); Pictorial Nominalism (University of Minnesota, 1991); Kant after Duchamp (Cambridge: The MIT Press, 1996); Clement Greenberg Between the Lines (Chicago/London: University of Chicago Press, 2010); Look, 100 Years of Contemporary Art (Gand: Ludion, 2001), and Sewn In the Sweatshops of Marx: Beuys, Warhol, Klein, Duchamp (Chicago/London: University of Chicago Press, 2012). Two volumes of his Essais datés – respectively titled Duchampiana and Adresses – have been published by the MAMCO (Geneva) in 2014 and in 2016. Volume One of Aesthetics at Large: Art, Ethics, Politics, a book of his essays on aesthetics inspired by Kant’s Critique of Judgment, has just appeared from the University of Chicago Press (2018). His latest manuscript, Duchamp’s Telegram, expanding on six essays he published in Artforum in 2013-2014, is forthcoming from Reaktion Books (London) in 2020.

Event

Discussion with Thierry de Duve, Chantal Pontbriand and Normand Thériault
2019.03.21

VOX invites you to a discussion around the issues raised by the documentary reactivation of 03 23 03 (1977). This roundtable moderated by Marie J. Jean will bring together historian and philosopher of art Thierry de Duve with two of the original exhibition’s organizers, Chantal Pontbriand and Normand Thériault. Admission is free, but seats are limited!

Read more

Exhibition

“Créer à rebours vers l’exposition”: The case of 03 23 03
2019.02.15 - 04.27

Continuing its research into the practice, history and future of exhibitions and their documentation, VOX presents the fifth in its series of documentary exhibitions, dedicated this time to the event 03 23 03 – First International Encounter on Contemporary Art in Montreal, 1977. Organized by France Morin, Chantal Pontbriand and Normand Thériault and presented in a disused post office, this major event included an exhibition, a series of performances, and debates.

Read more

Thierry de Duve

Biographie

Historien et philosophe de l’art, Thierry de Duve est Evelyn Kranes Kossak Professor au département d’art et d’histoire de l’art du Hunter College, City University of New York, et Professeur émérite de l’Université de Lille 3. Il a également enseigné l’histoire et la théorie de l’art moderne à l’Université d’Ottawa de 1982 à 1990. Il est l’auteur de nombreux livres sur l’art et l’esthétique de la modernité, parmi lesquels, Nominalisme pictural : Marcel Duchamp, la peinture et la modernité (Paris, Les Éditions de Minuit, 1984); Au nom de l’art : Pour une archéologie de la modernité (Paris, Les Éditions de Minuit, 1989); Résonances du readymade (Paris, Les éditions Fayard, 1989); Cousus de fil d’or : Beuys, Warhol, Klein, Duchamp (Villeurbanne, Art Édition, 1990); Pictorial Nominalism (University of Minnesota, 1991); Clement Greenberg entre les lignes (Dijon, Les presses du réel 1996); Kant after Duchamp (Cambridge, The MIT Press, 1996); Voici, 100 ans d’art contemporain (Gand, Ludion, 2001) et Sewn In the Sweatshops of Marx: Beuys, Warhol, Klein, Duchamp (Chicago/London, University of Chicago Press, 2012). Deux volumes de ses Essais datés – intitutlés respectivement Duchampiana et Adresses – ont été publiés par le MAMCO (Genève) en 2014 et en 2016. Les Presses universitaires de Chicago ont fait paraître tout récemment Aesthetics at Large: Art, Ethics, Politics (2018), le premier volume de ses essais sur l’esthétique nourris par la Critique de la faculté de juger de Kant. Son dernier manuscrit, Duchamp’s Telegram, qui élargit le propos de six essais parus dans Artforum en 2013-2014, sera publié par Reaktion Books (Londres) en 2020.

Événement

Discussion avec Thierry de Duve, Chantal Pontbriand et Normand Thériault
2019.03.21

VOX vous convie à une discussion autour des enjeux soulevés par sa réactivation documentaire de 03 23 03 (1977). Cette table ronde animée par Marie J. Jean rassemblera le théoricien de l’art Thierry de Duve et deux des trois organisateurs de l’exposition d’origine, Chantal Pontbriand et Normand Thériault. Entrée libre, mais places limitées !

Lire plus

Exposition

Créer à rebours vers l'exposition : le cas de 03 23 03
2019.02.15 - 04.27

Poursuivant les recherches entreprises sur la pratique, l’histoire, le devenir des expositions et leur documentation, VOX présente une cinquième exposition documentaire consacrée, cette fois-ci, à l’événement 03 23 03 – Premières rencontres internationales d’art contemporain de Montréal, 1977. Organisée par France Morin, Chantal Pontbriand et Normand Thériault dans un ancien bureau de poste, cette manifestation artistique incluait une exposition, un programme de performances et une série de débats.

Lire plus