Qaumma. Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory

Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory, Qaumma, FTA, 2022.

Photo: Vinnie Karetak

June 5, 2022 1 p.m.
June 6, 2022
7 p.m.*
June 7, 2022
3 p.m. and 7 p.m.

*Meet the artists after the performance

At VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine
Buy your tickets here

40 min

In Inuktitut and English,
with French transcription

Relaxed performances

Coproduced by Festival TransAmériques
Co-presented by VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine
with the support of The Cole Foundation

ICEBERG OF LIGHT

The prodigious Inuk artist Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory grounds her creative work in the practice of uaajeerneq, the traditional Greenland mask dance passed on to her by her mother. Irreverent and decolonial, this tradition mingles explorations of sexuality, laughter, and dread. In this first draft of Qaumma, co-authored with Vinnie Karetak, the artists from Iqaluit address the forced displacements that uprooted their ancestors and colour their collective memory.

The spectators are gathered around an iceberg evoking the beauty of Nunavut, where people interact with a natural environment that is generous and nurturing in its coldness. Signifying light in Inuktitut, “qaumma” echoes the fire that Inuit women keep burning to protect their family. In their sculptural theatre, the artists recount how Inuit families find light despite social fragmentation, sculpting their own space—marred by centuries of colonization—with the help of their language, their guts, their culture.

Visit FTA’s website for all the details

Produced by Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory
Created and performed by Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory
Music Aqqalu Berthelsen
Written by Catherine Girardin
Translated by David Dalgleish + Maude Labelle
Premiered at Festival TransAmériques, Montreal, on June 5, 2022

Of Greenlandic descent, Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory was born in Saskatoon. She has lived in Iqaluit since 2004. The need to uphold the founding stories of her culture against the ravages of colonialism is intrinsic to her artistic practice, which she has continuously diversified and transformed for over thirty years. A founding member and artistic director of Qaggiavuut until 2021, an organization that promotes the conservation, development, and transmission of Inuit arts, Williamson Bathory is also a curator, sculptural artist, actress, stage director, and poet. In the installation Nannuppugut! (2021), which earned her the prestigious Sobey Art Award, she exhibited the skin of a polar bear that she killed while defending her family and honoured its spirit by projecting a video onto it, in which she performs a drum dance, engaging directly with the materiality and spirituality of the flesh, whether human or animal. A central element in her work is dialogue, especially with elders, whose stories she treats with love and reverence in Kiviuq Returns (2017-2019).

Her mother Karla Jessen Williamson, a pioneer in championing uaajeerneq, the Greenland mask dance, passed this art on to her along with its political significance. It would become a key element of her practice. Deploying the disruptive triad of fear, sexuality, and humour, uaajeerneq encourages exploration of the self and of humanity among both the spectators and the dancer. Williamson Bathory’s creations in various fields have received numerous awards. As an activist, she also pursues the affirmation and recognition of Inuit arts.

laakkuluk.com

Vinnie Karetak is a cultural icon in Inuit Nunangat. His face is instantly recognized by Inuit young and old for his work in comedy, journalism, performing arts, theatre and film. From starring in much beloved APTN programming such as Qanurli, to exploring heartache in his own short films and advocating for an Inuit performing arts centre in Nunavut to co-creating Kiviuq Returns with Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory, Vinnie’s dedication to art cannot be captured into a single genre. He is passionate about Inuktitut and its rightful place as the working language in Nunavut, for Inuit creating art for Inuit, processes of communication that challenge colonization and for Inuit family connections.

Relaxed Performances

Relaxed performances are open to all, including people with neurological or anxiety disorders, as well as parents accompanied by young children.

The sound and visual ambience of the show is adapted to create a calm, inclusive environment. The venue adopts a welcoming attitude towards noise and movement and adapts in-house signage for ease of orientation.

Qaumma. Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory

Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory, Qaumma, FTA, 2022.

Photo : Vinnie Karetak

5 juin 2022 à 13 h
6 juin 2022 à 19 h*
7 juin 2022 à 15 h et 19 h

*Rencontre après la représentation

À VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine
Achetez vos billets ici

40 min

En Inuktitut et en anglais, avec transcription en français

Représentations décontractées

Coproduction Festival TransAmériques
Coprésenté par VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine avec le soutien de Fondation Cole

DE GLACE ET DE LUMIÈRE

La prodigieuse artiste inuk Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory fonde sa création sur la pratique de l’uaajeerneq, danse du masque groenlandaise que lui a transmise sa mère. Frondeuse et décoloniale, cette tradition joue avec l’exploration de la sexualité, le rire et l’effroi. Dans cette première mouture de Qaumma, coécrite avec son complice Vinnie Karetak, ces deux artistes d’Iqualuit abordent les déplacements forcés qui ont marqué la vie de leurs ancêtres et la mémoire collective.

Les spectateur·rice·s gravitent autour d’un iceberg, rappel de la beauté du Nunavut, où les êtres interagissent avec une nature généreuse et maternelle dans sa froideur. « Qaumma » signifie lumière en inuktitut et renvoie au feu qu’entretiennent les femmes inuites pour protéger leur famille. Dans leur théâtre sculptural, les artistes racontent comment les familles inuites trouvent la lumière à travers le délitement et sculptent, justement, leur espace, défiguré par des siècles de colonisation, à l’aide de leur langue, de leur ventre, de leur culture.

Tous les détails sur le site Web du FTA

Un spectacle de Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory
Création et interprétation Vinnie Karetak + Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory
Musique Aqqalu Berthelsen
Rédaction Catherine Girardin
Traduction David Dalgleish + Maude Labelle
Création au Festival TransAmériques, Montréal, le 5 juin, 2022

D’ascendance groenlandaise, Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory naît à Saskatoon et vit à Iqaluit depuis 2004. La nécessité de faire exister les récits fondateurs de sa culture sur les ravages du colonialisme est indissociable de sa pratique artistique qui se diversifie et se transforme continuellement depuis une trentaine d’années. Membre fondatrice et directrice artistique de Qaggiavuut jusqu’en 2021, un organisme qui promeut la conservation, le développement et la transmission des arts inuits, Williamson Bathory est également curatrice, sculptrice, actrice, metteuse en scène et poète. Dans l’installation Nannuppugut! (2021), qui lui a valu le prestigieux Prix Sobey pour les arts, elle expose la peau d’une ourse polaire qu’elle a abattue pour défendre sa famille et honore son âme en y projetant une vidéo où elle exécute une danse au tambour, en prise directe avec la matérialité et la vie spirituelle de la chair, humaine comme animale. Elle accorde une place centrale à la conversation, notamment avec les aînés dont les histoires sont l’objet d’amour et de révérence dans Kiviuq Returns (2017-2019).

Sa mère, Karla Jessen Williamson, pionnière de la défense de l’uaajeerneq, une danse du masque groenlandaise, lui a transmis cet art dont la charge politique deviendra l’un des fondements de sa pratique. L’uaajeerneq active la troublante triade de la peur, de la sexualité et de l’humour, afin d’inciter l’exploration, chez la danseuse et son public, du soi et de l’humanité. Les créations de Williamson Bathory dans diverses disciplines ont maintes fois été récompensées. Militante, elle œuvre également à l’affirmation et à la reconnaissance des arts inuits.

laakkuluk.com

Vinnie Karetak est une icône culturelle de l’Inuit Nunangat. Les Inuits, jeunes et moins jeunes, le connaissent bien pour son travail de journaliste et de comédien au théâtre et au cinéma. Son engagement dans les arts est multiple : on l’a vu à la chaîne APTN dans des émissions très appréciées du public comme Qanurli. Il a également réalisé quelques courts métrages et défendu avec ardeur l’existence d’un centre des arts de la scène inuit au Nunavut. Passionné par l’inuktitut et sa place en tant que langue de travail au Nunavut, il s’intéresse aux processus de communication qui défient la colonisation, aux liens familiaux inuits et aux Inuits qui créent pour les Inuits. Avec Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory, il crée en 2017 Kiviuq Returns, un spectacle en inuktitut qui fait le tour du Canada.

Représentations décontractées

Les représentations décontractées sont ouvertes à tous et à toutes, notamment aux personnes atteintes de troubles neurologiques ou anxieux, et aux parents accompagné·e·s de jeunes enfants.

L’ambiance sonore et visuelle du spectacle est adaptée pour créer un environnement calme et inclusif. La salle adopte une attitude hospitalière envers le bruit et les déplacements et met en place une signalétique spécifique.