Angela Grauerholz. At Work And Play

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, detail, 2008. Courtesy of the artist.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, detail, 2008. Courtesy of the artist.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, detail, 2008. Courtesy of the artist.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, detail, 2008. Courtesy of the artist.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, detail, 2008. Courtesy of the artist.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, detail, 2008. Courtesy of the artist.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, detail, 2008. Courtesy of the artist.

2009.01.10 -

Angela Grauerholz

Opening and launch on January 10, 2009

This project is a production of VOX in association with Sylvain Allard, graphic designer, and Clenche Inc. and was made possible thanks to financial assistance from the Canada Council for the Arts, as well as the Hexagram Fund.

VINCENT BONIN

Angela Grauerholz’s 1980s work involved subtle shifts of a repertoire of common motifs in modern visual culture. The blurring of codes resulting from the photographic act represented an attempt to postpone their obsolescence. In Eglogue or Filling the Landscape (1995) and Sententia I to LXII (1996), these loci were grasped through the logic of the document and the archival system. The latter installation was both the end of a cycle and a harbinger of the artist’s more recent practice, characterized by another intellectual process pertaining to the organization of artefacts in space. Having momentarily abandoned the manufactured image, Grauerholz now intercepts heterogeneous documentary materials (e.g., pages from exhibition catalogues, magazines articles, text fragments, manuscripts) and conveys them into the space allotted to artworks.

With Reading Room for the Working Artist (2003-2004)1, she created twelve volumes to serve as the repository for that archive. Each book contains one or more themed headings under which Grauerholz collates contiguous objects. Far from reproducing encyclopedic categories, these headings derive from a subjective mapping of all the accumulated documents.

The visitor consults these books in an environment that partially reconstitutes the Reading Room of the USSR Worker’s Club, designed by Alexandr Rodchenko and featured in the Exposition internationale des arts décoratifs et industriels modernes in Paris in 1925. This staging allows visitors to discover a private constellation while sharing their experience of reading with peers, in a public space. At Work and Play (2008) adapts this project for a Web space, eliminating the tactile dimension of the printed pages but offering a more complex method of consultation. Grauerholz has chosen to exploit the polysemic nature of hypermedia, multiplying the access points to the content of her archive. The tree structure of keywords enabling indexing of the digitized materials remains invisible, however. That infrastructure is nonetheless mapped onto a cognitive interface of verbs evoking the artist’s work. These alternate between the quest for an object or its interpretation and pure playful exercise (collect, construct, sense, create, write, think, dying, live, tame). In many cases, the use of the verb as category also increases the performative coefficient of the image itself.

The video used for the main interface is another element that was present in the 2003-2004 installation; it consists of Super 8 family movies edited end-to-end (drawn from Hollywood narrative feature films) and various excerpts that foreshadow certain patterns seen in the work. The visitor causes the content of the archive to be displayed by clicking on one of the vertical bands formed by the verbs, and which striate the moving images. In the centre of the document, a nine-cell grid provides access to artefacts indexed under the same keywords (both the “large” and the “small” interface are made up of the same number of access points). To make the movement from one document to another fluid without negating their provenance, legends are displayed only if the visitor opens a box in the upper-right portion of the screen.

The thematic connections among the documents are often difficult to pin down on first visit. One must therefore peruse the corpus regularly to divine its main thrusts. Some samples gleaned from various convergent trajectories and accumulated clues seem particularly meaningful. One constellation of images inventories the identities of artists belonging to historical avant-gardes. The motif of the atelier also appears, functioning paradoxically as an anchor point of subjectivity and a site of industrial production prefiguring its loss. Group portraits of the members of early 20th-century radical artistic movements (Dadaists and Surrealists, for example) also recur, in the manner of a leitmotif. According to Grauerholz, they evoke a collectivist moment in which cultural modernity coincided exceptionally with an achievable social utopia. Other, transversal series of images make plain Grauerholz’s sustained research into certain figures (Aby Warburg, Ludwig Wittgenstein) and founding myths of that modernity. Alongside this iconographical archive, At Work and Play contains more than 500 quotations from literary and philosophical texts that, when read as fragments, have the effect of one long polyphonic commentary.2

Several documents function as models for the project itself, pointing the way to archival systems or collections. Grauerholz favours paragons born of the imaginations of 20th-century intellectuals and artists that escaped the norms of institutional classification (Warburg’s Atlas, Andy Warhol’s Time Capsules, Walter Benjamin’s Arcades Project, Marcel Duchamp’s boxes, materials from collages by Gilbert and George). This action of constituting constellations of objects here amounts to a staging of the cosmos on a human scale. The 20th-century corollary to this praxis was the attempt to erase the boundaries between art and everyday life, as evident in the concept of the “total work of art.”

All of these configurations are themselves porous, because At Work and Play causes the universe of the artist to resonate with culture in the broader sense. According to Paul Ricœur, subjective memory cannot exist without a discursive translation of its content: our past and present experiences are stated by means of collective references, and individual recollections manifest themselves by means of the language shared by a community of speakers.3 The author Christoph Wulf (cited in At Work and Play) reiterates this postulate in his assertion that one’s world-view and self-image are interdependent.4

The visitor can also take part in this reflexive movement by visualizing his or her own consultation of the archive. Each digitized artefact has a unique identifier that assigns it an address in the tree structure of the relational database. As the visitor progresses through the site, a two-dimensional schema makes these trajectories visible in real time. By switching to “build” mode, the visitor can crystallize this paradigm in the form of an object that is assimilated to a “memory palace.” The indexed documents are also redeployed into a syntagm representing the space-time coordinates of the visitor’s “navigation” (position in the database, duration of the “arrest” on the image or text). This object draws the visible portion of a modular architecture as it is being built, but is erased if the visitor chooses to start over or leaves the site. The irreversible nature of the experience, combined with this spatial virtuality, evokes the magic block metaphor postulated by Freud to describe the psychic apparatus: although writings are inscribed, they are erased superficially by interruption of the contact between the celluloid sheet (perception) and the wax tablet (the subconscious). At Work and Play also summons the Barthesian postulate whereby the birth of the Reader comes at the cost of the death of the Author.5 Here, these two instances constantly exchange their functions in an economy of meaning based on both appearance and disappearance. This gives rise to unlocatable archives that are conjugated in the present while simultaneously allowing for the imagining of a past and a future lying beyond the reach of the gaze.

1. Installation on view at VOX centre de l’image contemporaine, from January 28 to March 18, 2006.
2. Authors cited include Giorgio Agamben, Gaston Bachelard, Charles Baudelaire, Roland Barthes, George Bataille, Samuel Beckett, Walter Benjamin, Jorge Luis Borges, Benjamin H.D. Buchloh, Italo Calvino, Albert Camus, Marguerite Duras, E.M. Cioran, Beatriz Colomina, Michel Foucault, Edmond Jabès, Franz Kafka, Stéphane Mallarmé, André Malraux, Robert Musil, George Perec, Jean-Paul Sartre, Susan Sontag, Susan Stewart, Aby Warburg, Christoph Wulf.
3. Paul Ricœur, Memory, History, Forgetting, trans. Kathleen Blamey and David Pellauer (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2004).
4. Christoph Wulf, “The Temporality of World-Views and Self-Images,” in Looking Back on the End of the World, ed. Dietmar Kamper and Christoph Wulf, Semiotext(e) Foreign Agent Series (New York: Columbia University, 1989).
5. Roland Barthes, “The Death of the Author” [1968], in Image, Music, Text, ed. and trans. Stephen Heath (New York: Hill and Wang, 1977), p. 148.

Biography

Angela Grauerholz

Angela Grauerholz

Angela Grauerholz was born in Hamburg, Germany, and has lived in Montreal since 1976. She has been teaching at UQAM’s École de design since 1988. She is a co-founder of Artexte, a contemporary art information…

Read more

Journal # 29 - 01.2009

Read the online journal for the exhibition Angela GrauerholzAt Work and Play 

atworkandplay.ca

At Work and Play, an experimental artwork by Angela Grauerholz which offers a new way to navigate within an archive of more than four thousands documents about the history of modernism, as well as the ability to visualize, in real time, the path created and to generate a different “memory palace” with every visit.

www.atworkandplay.ca

Angela Grauerholz. At Work and Play

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, détail, 2008. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, détail, 2008. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, détail, 2008. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, détail, 2008. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, détail, 2008. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, détail, 2008. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Angela Grauerholz, At Work and Play, détail, 2008. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

2009.01.10 -

Angela Grauerholz

Vernissage et lancement le 10 janvier 2009

Ce projet est une production de VOX réalisée en collaboration avec Sylvain Allard, concepteur graphique et Clenche Inc. grâce au soutien financier du Conseil des Arts du Canada ainsi que du Fonds Hexagram.

VINCENT BONIN

Dans les années 1980, le travail d’Angela Grauerholz procède du déplacement subtil d’un répertoire de lieux communs de la culture visuelle moderne. Le brouillage des codes par l’acte photographique représente alors une tentative de mettre en sursis leur obsolescence. Avec Eglogue or Filling the Landscape (1995) et Sententia I to LXII (1996), ces loci sont appréhendés selon l’économie du document et le système des archives. Cette dernière installation marque la fin d’un cycle tout en annonçant la pratique récente de l’artiste, où se traduit un autre processus intellectuel afférent à l’organisation spatiale d’artefacts. Laissant momentanément de côté l’image fabriquée, Grauerholz intercepte désormais des matériaux documentaires hétérogènes (pages de catalogues d’exposition, articles de magazines, fragments de texte, manuscrits, etc.) qu’elle fait ensuite transiter vers l’espace imparti aux œuvres.

Avec Salle de lecture de l’artiste au travail (2003-2004)1, elle façonne douze volumes servant de réceptacle à ce corpus. Chacun d’entre eux renferme une ou plusieurs rubriques thématiques sous lesquelles Grauerholz regroupe des objets contigus. Loin de reproduire des catégories encyclopédiques, ces rubriques dérivent d’une cartographie subjective de l’ensemble des documents accumulés.

Le visiteur les consulte dans un environnement qui reconstruit partiellement la Salle de lecture du club ouvrier de l’URSS d’Alexandre Rodchenko, présentée lors de l’exposition internationale des arts décoratifs et industriels modernes de Paris en 1925. Grâce à cette scénographie, le visiteur découvre une constellation privée tout en partageant son expérience de lecture avec des pairs dans un lieu public. Adaptation de ce projet pour Internet, At Work and Play (2008) élimine la dimension tactile des pages, mais propose un mode de consultation plus complexe. Grauerholz décide d’exploiter la polysémie de l’hypermédia en multipliant les points d’accès au contenu de son corpus. Or l’arborescence de mots-clefs, qui permet d’indexer les matériaux numérisés, reste invisible. Cette infrastructure se conjugue cependant à une interface cognitive de verbes évoquant le travail de l’artiste. Ceux-ci oscillent entre la quête ou l’interprétation d’un objet et la pure dépense ludique (collectionner, construire, sentir, créer, écrire, penser, disparaître, exister, vaincre). Dans plusieurs occurrences, l’emploi du verbe comme catégorie redouble aussi le coefficient performatif de l’image elle-même.

Élément également présent dans l’installation de 2003-2004, la vidéo de l’interface principale monte bout à bout des films de famille super-8 (tirés de longs métrages narratifs hollywoodiens) et des extraits divers préfigurant certains motifs de l’œuvre. Le visiteur fait s’afficher le contenu du corpus lorsqu’il clique sur l’une des bandes verticales désignées par les verbes et striant les images en mouvement. Au centre du document, une grille de neuf cases permet d’accéder à des artefacts indexés sous les mêmes mots-clefs (la « grande » et la « petite » interface sont toutes deux composées d’un nombre égal de points d’accès). Afin de rendre fluide le passage d’un document à l’autre sans faire l’économie de leur provenance, les légendes se déploient uniquement en ouvrant une case dans la partie supérieure droite de l’écran.

Les liens thématiques que partagent ces documents sont souvent difficiles à cerner lors d’une première visite. Il faut donc fréquenter assidûment le corpus pour en dessiner les grands axes. Quelques échantillons glanés au fil de trajectoires croisées et d’indices cumulés semblent particulièrement prégnants. Un ensemble d’images inventorie les identités d’artistes des avant-gardes historiques. Le motif de l’atelier y figure paradoxalement comme un lieu d’ancrage de la subjectivité et un site de production industrielle signalant sa déperdition. Les portraits de groupe des membres de mouvements artistiques radicaux du début du XXe siècle (dadaïstes, surréalistes, etc.) réapparaissent également à la manière de leitmotive. Selon Grauerholz, ils évoquent un moment de collectivisme où la modernité culturelle coïncide exceptionnellement avec une utopie sociale réalisable. D’autres séries transversales d’images rendent perceptible le caractère soutenu des recherches de Grauerholz sur certains personnages (Aby Warburg, Ludwig Wittgenstein) et mythes fondateurs de cette modernité. Parallèlement à ce corpus de sources iconographiques, At Work and Play renferme plus de 500 citations tirées de textes littéraires et philosophiques, dont la lecture fragmentée produit l’effet d’un long commentaire polyphonique2.

Plusieurs documents font office de modèles du projet lui-même en indiquant vers des systèmes d’archives ou des collections. Grauerholz privilégie les parangons nés de l’imaginaire d’intellectuels et d’artistes du XXe siècle contournant les normes de classification institutionnelles (Atlas d’Aby Warburg, Time Capsules d’Andy Warhol, Livre des passages de Walter Benjamin, les boîtes de Marcel Duchamp, les matériaux des collages de Gilbert et George). Ce geste de constituer des constellations d’objets devient ici une mise en scène du cosmos à l’échelle humaine. Au XXe siècle, cette praxis a pour corollaire la tentative d’effacer les frontières entre l’art et la vie quotidienne selon le concept d’œuvre totale.

Toutes ces configurations sont elles-mêmes poreuses, car At Work and Play fait entrer en résonance l’univers de l’artiste et la culture au sens large. D’après Paul Ricœur, il n’existe pas de mémoire subjective sans une traduction discursive de son contenu. Nos expériences passées et présentes s’énoncent au moyen de références collectives. Les souvenirs individuels se manifestent grâce au langage partagé par une communauté de locuteurs3. Cité dans At Work and Play, l’auteur Christoph Wulf réitère ce postulat en affirmant que la vision du monde et l’image de soi se surdéterminent mutuellement4.

Le visiteur peut également prendre part à ce mouvement réflexif par la visualisation de sa consultation du corpus. Chacun des artefacts numérisés dispose d’un numéro unique qui lui confère une adresse dans l’arborescence de la base de données relationnelle. Tout au long du parcours, un schéma bidimensionnel donne à voir ces trajectoires tissées en temps réel. Passant au mode « construire », le visiteur cristallise alors ce paradigme sous la forme d’un objet assimilé au palais de mémoire. Les documents indexés se redéploient aussi dans un syntagme représentant les coordonnées spatiotemporelles de la « navigation » (positionnement dans la base de données, durée de l’« arrêt » sur l’image ou le texte). Cet objet dessine la part visible d’une architecture modulaire en cours d’édification, mais s’éclipse lorsque le visiteur choisit de recommencer ou quitte le site. Le caractère irréversible de l’expérience, ainsi que cette virtualité spatiale, convoque la métaphore du bloc magique formulée par Freud pour décrire l’appareil psychique. Bien que des graphies s’inscrivent, l’écriture s’y efface en superficie par l’interruption du contact entre la feuille de celluloïd (perception) et la cire (l’inconscient). At Work and Play met également à jour ce postulat de Roland Barthes selon lequel la naissance du lecteur se « paierait » de la mort de l’auteur5. Ces deux instances échangent ici constamment leur fonction dans une économie signifiante reposant autant sur l’apparition que sur la disparition. Il en résulte des archives insituables, qui se conjuguent au présent tout en laissant imaginer un passé et un futur hors de portée du regard.

1. Installation présentée à VOX centre de l’image contemporaine, du 28 janvier au 18 mars 2006.
2. Certains auteurs cités : Giorgio Agamben, Gaston Bachelard, Charles Baudelaire, Roland Barthes, George Bataille, Samuel Beckett, Walter Benjamin, Jorge Luis Borges, Benjamin H.D. Buchloh, Italo Calvino, Albert Camus, Marguerite Duras, E.M. Cioran, Beatriz Colomina, Michel Foucault, Edmond Jabès, Franz Kafka, Stéphane Mallarmé, André Malraux, Robert Musil, George Perec, Jean-Paul Sartre, Susan Sontag, Susan Stewart, Aby Warburg, Christoph Wulf.
3. Paul Ricœur, « Histoire et mémoire » dans De l’histoire au cinéma, Paris, Éditions Complexe, 1998.
4. Christoph Wulf, « The Temporality of World-Views and Self-Images » dans Looking Back on the End of the World, sous la direction de Dietmar Kamper et Christoph Wulf, Semiotext(e) Foreign Agent Series, Columbia University, New York, 1989.
5.
Roland Barthes, « La mort de l’auteur » [1968] dans Le Bruissement de la langue, Paris, Seuil, 1984, p. 69.

Biographie

Angela Grauerholz

Angela Grauerholz

Angela Grauerholz est née à Hambourg, Allemagne et vit à Montréal depuis 1976. Elle enseigne depuis 1988 à l’École de design de l’UQAM. Elle est cofondatrice de Artexte, centre d’information…

Lire plus

Journal # 29 - 01.2009

Consultez le journal Angela Grauerholz. At Work and Play en ligne

atworkandplay.ca

At Work and Play est une expérimentation artistique d’Angela Grauerholz qui propose une façon nouvelle de naviguer à l’intérieur d’une archive comprenant plus de 4000 documents sur l’histoire moderniste, de visualiser, en temps réel, le parcours réalisé et de modéliser un palais de mémoire, à chaque fois unique.

www.atworkandplay.ca