Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos)

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

Claire Savoie, still image, installation 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos), VOX, from January 20 to March 3, 2007.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos), VOX, from January 20 to March 3, 2007.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos), VOX, from January 20 to March 3, 2007.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2007.01.20 - 03.03

Claire Savoie

Opening January 20, 2007

Densifying the Everyday: The Work of Claire Savoie

MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON

One does not abolish the everyday; one occasionally circumvents it, or densifies it. – Pascal Bruckner

For some years now, the work of Claire Savoie has deployed a poetics of grazing and dizziness. Paradoxically, the artist has mapped out the parameters of that poetics via mechanisms that engage the senses of the receiver to their highest degree of acuity—here, the gaze diverted; there, the sense of touch stimulated; elsewhere, one’s hearing captivated, by diverse and demanding strata of sound. By grazing, then, we mean here a drawing back to the surface of sensory processes that have been interiorized. Dizziness, meanwhile, emerges from an intensifying of the presence of the body, perceived and perceiving the world.

This exhibition speaks to the artist’s continued interest in the spatiotemporal considerations that forge the anchoring of the subject to the world. The avenues she takes appear more personal than in previous works. Here, however, known codes of the diary format are present. Each of the monitors delivers, in capsule format, the textual, the visual and the sound record of one day. In the fashion of the Japanese conceptual artist On Kawara (an admitted reference), the artist collects, in the space of a day, the material needed to produce these short audio and video recordings. They are then played back as loops. As a rule, they include the textual entry of the recording date, a written or spoken summary of the topic – and the artist’s confidences which are sometimes stated in the first person singular but most often indirectly apparent in the projected shadow of her body, in the agitation of her handheld camera, and even in the rhythm of her breathing.

Indeed, the artist-diarist has deliberately blurred the registers of the various narratives unfolding in the sparse “pages” of her journal. First of all, one borrowed from the news media: the appearance in the frame of textual references to current events mimics the horizontal scrolling banner employed by the all-news networks. The fleeting infiltration of news into the image, concurrently with the artist’s private speech, evokes an invasive dimension. This is the background noise that she instills. In multiple layerings and overlappings, the subjective thoughts of the artist are then added. These are no less elliptical, but here the intent is to reinstate the working processes of memory and the ways they select, hierarchize, isolate, group together… in short, the way they manipulate fragmentary and more complete recollections in order to process and retain them. Although the raw material of each recording refers to a specific day of information collection, montage, benefits from the elapsed time interval, permits flashbacks and encourages palimpsests and rereadings.

The artist has retained only those shot-sequences in which a quality of presence was concentrated and that revealed inspiring details, or salient coincidences and discoveries: rain swelling on a glass wall, a scar breathing, a monumental architectural form melting… Woven together from diverse sources, the sound and text elements in turn complexify the visual field. The capsules, then, are not documentary in texture but more dreamlike, reflective, contemplative and introspective. The monitors’ arrangement and format—calling to mind postcards and photos in family albums—encourage this perception, inviting the visitor to interrogate the elements randomly and privately.

Because it is generated in the artist’s everyday experience, the project acquires a reflexive dimension that concerns the very development of the work. The views of the studio and the fragmented transcriptions of the artist’s working notes refer to her creative process, as do the action verbs she occasionally lays out in whispers: “qui reprend, qui empêche, qui recommence, qui laisse tomber” (“that repossess, that hinder, that start over, that let down”). The voices overlap, blurring into and erasing each other, making manifest a certain troubled state and, it would seem, an awareness of limits and of incapacities: “Je te dis que je suis incapable de faire de la peinture” (“I tell you that I am incapable of painting”) can be read at one point. Moreover, the repeated uttering “Je me suis levée à…” (“I got up at…”) is a lucid wording of the prime condition for this project’s actuality: being alive, having the ability to testify to one’s presence and, by extension, its implicit fragility. Out of this arguably obsessive process (these daily exercises are still in progress) emerges a body of work confined to “unfinishedness,” but one through which the creator/subject invents herself every day—by densifying the everyday.

Pascal Bruckner, L’euphorie perpétuelle. Essai sur le devoir de bonheur (Paris: Grasset, 2000), p. 142. [freely translated]

Biography

Claire Savoie

Claire Savoie

Since 2006, Claire Savoie has been creating, among others, the ongoing work Aujourd’hui (dates‑vidéos), which consists of producing daily videos according to a specific protocol…

Read more

Publication

I am telling you that I am incapable of ending this activity. Claire Savoie

This first monograph devoted to the work of Claire Savoie documents and analyzes her videographic output as well as recent and older installations…

Read more

Journal # 20 - 01.2007

Read the online journal for the exhibition Claire Savoie et Steve Reinke

Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos)

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Claire Savoie, image fixe tirée de l’installation
05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos). Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos), VOX, du 20 janvier au 3 mars 2007.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos), VOX, du 20 janvier au 3 mars 2007.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Claire Savoie. 05.02.2006 – 05.02.2007 (date-vidéos), VOX, du 20 janvier au 3 mars 2007.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2007.01.20 - 03.03

Claire Savoie

Vernissage le 20 janvier 2007

Le quotidien densifié par Claire Savoie

MARIE-ÈVE CHARRON

On n’abolit pas le quotidien, on le détourne parfois, on le densifie. – Pascal Bruckner

Depuis quelques années, le travail de Claire Savoie met en place une poétique de l’effleurement et du vertige. Paradoxalement, l’artiste élabore les paramètres de cette poétique à travers des dispositifs où les sens du récepteur sont mobilisés dans toute leur acuité. Quand ce n’est pas le regard qui est décillé, c’est le toucher qui est stimulé ou encore l’ouïe qui est captivée par des strates sonores exigeantes. L’effleurement consiste donc ici à ramener à la surface des processus sensoriels intériorisés. Le vertige, lui, est une intensification de la présence du corps perçu et percevant le monde.

Dans la présente exposition, on retrouve l’intérêt de l’artiste pour les considérations spatiotemporelles qui fondent l’ancrage du sujet au monde. La voie empruntée pour ce dispositif apparaît toutefois plus personnelle que dans les œuvres précédentes puisque les modalités connues du journal intime y sont présentes. Chaque moniteur livre sous forme de capsule le témoignage textuel, visuel et sonore d’une journée. Dans la foulée de l’artiste conceptuel japonais On Kawara, référence avouée, l’artiste a collecté au quotidien le matériel nécessaire à la réalisation de ces courtes bandes sonores et visuelles diffusées en boucle. On y retrouve, en général, l’inscription textuelle de la date d’enregistrement, un aperçu écrit ou sonore de l’actualité et les confidences de l’artiste, parfois énoncées à la première personne du singulier, mais le plus souvent manifestées indirectement, par l’ombre projetée de son corps, la fébrilité de la caméra épaule ou encore le rythme de son souffle.

L’artiste diariste aura par ailleurs volontairement brouillé le registre des différents récits qui traversent les « pages » éparses de son journal. Il y a d’abord celui extrait des médias de l’information. L’apparition dans l’image d’éléments textuels renvoyant à l’actualité mime le défilement horizontal des nouvelles brèves diffusées sur les réseaux d’information; leur infiltration fugace dans l’image, à même le propos intime de l’artiste, évoque leur portée envahissante, le bruit de fond qu’elle installe. Par stratifications et chevauchements, les pensées subjectives de l’artiste s’ajoutent. Elles sont tout aussi elliptiques, mais cette fois c’est pour restituer les processus du travail de la mémoire, lui qui sélectionne, hiérarchise, isole, regroupe, bref manipule les traces et les souvenirs pour les traiter, les conserver. Si le matériel de chacune de ces bandes se rattache à une journée spécifique de cueillette, le montage, lui, a profité du temps qui a passé, il autorise les retours en arrière, il encourage le palimpseste et la relecture.

L’artiste a seulement retenu les plans séquences qui concentraient une qualité de présence, révélant des détails inspirants, des coïncidences ou des trouvailles étonnantes – une pluie qui se gonfle sur la paroi vitrée, une cicatrice qui respire, une architecture monumentale qui se liquéfie… Tissés de sources diverses, les éléments sonores et textuels complexifient ensuite le plan visuel. La texture de ces capsules n’est donc pas documentaire; elle tient du rêve, de la réflexion, de la contemplation et de l’introspection. La disposition des moniteurs et leur format, qui est celui aussi des cartes postales et des photos d’album, favorisent cette perception en invitant le visiteur à la consultation aléatoire et intimiste des éléments.

Aussi, étant généré par le quotidien de l’artiste, le projet engage une dimension réflexive qui est de l’ordre de l’élaboration même de l’œuvre. Les vues de l’atelier et la transcription fragmentée du carnet de notes de travail ramènent au processus de création de l’artiste tout comme les verbes d’action qu’elle décline parfois en chuchotant : « qui reprend, qui empêche, qui recommence, qui laisse tomber… ». Les voix se superposent, s’estompent et s’effacent, rendant manifeste un certain trouble qui participerait aussi d’un constat sur les limites, sur les incapacités : « Je te dis que je suis incapable de faire de la peinture », peut-on lire à un certain moment. La présence répétée de l’énoncé « Je me suis levée à … » formule par ailleurs avec lucidité la première condition de possibilité de ce projet, être en vie, pouvoir attester de sa présence et, par conséquent, de la fragilité qui lui est implicite. À travers cette démarche à certains égards obsessive – ces exercices journaliers sont toujours en cours – s’élabore une œuvre confinée à l’inachèvement, mais par laquelle le sujet créateur s’invente au quotidien. Un quotidien densifié.

Pascal Bruckner, L’euphorie perpétuelle. Essai sur le devoir de bonheur, Paris, Grasset, 2000, p. 142.

Biographie

Claire Savoie

Claire Savoie

Claire Savoie vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives au Canada et en Europe depuis 1984, dont L’art dans le monde, organisée par…

Lire plus

Publication

Je te dis que suis incapable de clore l'exercice. Claire Savoie

Cette première monographie consacrée à la pratique artistique de Claire Savoie documente et analyse ses travaux vidéographiques et ses installations récentes et antérieures…

Lire plus

Journal # 20 - 01.2007

Consulter le journal des expositions Claire Savoie et Steve Reinke en ligne