Henrik Håkansson and Eadweard J. Muybridge

Henrik Håkansson, Sleep (Eunectes murinus), still, 1998, video, 3 h 20 min. Courtesy of the artist.

Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904), Animal Locomotion, 1887, phototype, plate 578, 47,9 x 60,4 cm. Courtesy of Collection du Musée d’art de Joliette, Don de Jack Greenwald.

2006.05.06 - 06.17

Henrik Håkansson and Eadweard J. Muybridge

Opening May 6, 2006

This exhibition was made possible thanks to the collaboration of the Musée d’art de Joliette and the Franco Noero Gallery.

Études

The speed at which things move robs from our gaze any chance it has of scrutinizing motion in successive states, of observing the specific way things behave, of analysing the kinematics of bodies and objects. With the invention of photography, however, came a new epistemological paradigm: one enabling the freeze-framing, if you will, of our images of the world. Paradoxically, in an age (the Industrial Revolution) when everything was moving faster, we developed the ability to observe things slowed down—an ability crucial to scientific study. Both the photographs of Eadweard J. Muybridge and the video installations of Henrik Håkansson invite us to share in an experience of that ability. Their images capture our gaze and provoke an unexpected vision of time and motion.

Between 1877 and 1879 Muybridge famously set out to prove the notion that all four of a galloping horse’s hooves are sometimes aloft. With help from engineers, he developed a system of multiple cameras that could “dissect” a horse’s movements at full gallop. His invention, chronophotography, gave us a new tool for the study of human and animal locomotion in enabling movements to be broken down and fixed as individual, sequential images. Beginning in 1884, Muybridge, by then employed at the University of Pennsylvania, took thousands of such pictures of people and animals, his subjects tripping shutters on a bank of cameras one after the other. The motion thus captured is minimal, sometimes difficult to perceive—a rift in the temporal logic of the actions that unfolded. The twelve plates brought together here—loaned by the Musée d’art de Joliette—were part of this vast undertaking, entitled Animal Locomotion.

The advent of photography, cinema and then video inarguably transformed our ways of seeing the natural world. Before we invented any of the technological devices we now use to capture and amplify its images and sounds, we observed nature directly, in real time. Today, such recordings are unavoidable mediators of our relationships to the world. The observation of nature and such processes of mediation are at the core of Sweden-born Henrik Håkansson’s artistic vision. He employs the methods of scientific research—surveillance cameras, close-ups, slow motion, absence of human intervention—to extend, in time and space, an aural and visual experience of the animal world. As we view them, however, we are reminded of the distance separating us from these fascinating spectacles.

Biography

Henrik Håkansson

Henrik Håkansson

Henrik Håkansson was born in 1968 in Helsingborg, Sweden; he currently resides in Berlin. His works involve the observing and recording of natural ecosystems and microcosms, and their reconstitution…

Read more

Biography

Eadweard J. Muybridge

Eadweard J. Muybridge

Between 1877 and 1879 Muybridge famously set out to prove the notion that all four of a galloping horse’s hooves are sometimes aloft. With help from engineers, he developed a system of multiple cameras…

Read more

Henrik Håkansson et Eadweard J. Muybridge

Henrik Håkansson, Sleep (Eunectes murinus), image fixe, 1998, projection vidéo, 3 h 20 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904), Animal Locomotion, 1887, phototype, Planche 578, 47,9 x 60,4 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de la Collection du Musée d’art de Joliette, Don de Jack Greenwald.

2006.05.06 - 06.17

Henrik Håkansson et Eadweard J. Muybridge

Vernissage le 6 mai 2006

Cette exposition a été rendue possible grâce à la collaboration du Musée d’art de Joliette, de la galerie Franco Noero.

Études

La vitesse ravit au regard toute possibilité de scruter le mouvement dans ses états successifs, d’observer un comportement dans ses particularités ou d’analyser la cinématique des corps ou des choses. Or, c’est bien connu, l’invention de la photographie a introduit un nouveau paradigme épistémologique qui a permis de réaliser un arrêt sur les images du monde. Ainsi, à l’ère industrielle, au moment où tout s’accélère, on invente paradoxalement la vision de la lenteur si essentielle à l’étude scientifique. C’est à une telle expérience que nous convient les photographies d’Eadweard J. Muybridge et les vidéos d’Henrik Håkansson. Leurs images captivent l’attention et offrent une vision inattendue du temps et du mouvement.

Poussé par le motif de démontrer qu’un cheval au galop n’a par moments aucun appui au sol, Eadweard J. Muybridge élabore entre 1877 et 1879, avec l’aide d’ingénieurs, un poste de prise de vues multiples qui permet de disséquer le mouvement du cheval. Il invente la chronophotographie qui dissocie et fige les poses successives et offre ainsi un nouvel outil pour étudier la locomotion humaine et animale. Titulaire d’un poste à l’université de Pennsylvanie à Philadelphie à partir de 1884, Muybridge y réalise des milliers de clichés d’humains et d’animaux en utilisant des appareils à déclenchement successif placés en ligne. Les mouvements ainsi captés sont minimes, parfois difficilement perceptibles, ce qui perturbe la logique temporelle des actions qui s’y déroulent. Les douze planches réunies ici – prêtées par le Musée d’art de Joliette – sont tirées de cette vaste entreprise intitulée Animal Locomotion.

L’avènement de la photographie, du cinéma puis de la vidéo a indéniablement transformé la manière d’observer le monde naturel. Avant l’invention des dispositifs de captation et d’amplification technologiques, la nature s’observait directement, en temps réel. Aujourd’hui, l’image et l’enregistrement sonore s’interposent résolument dans nos rapports au monde. L’observation de la nature et les processus de médiation sont au cœur du projet artistique d’Henrik Håkansson. L’artiste suédois utilise la méthodologie du documentaire scientifique – point de vue statique, gros plan, image ralentie, absence d’interférences humaines – pour étendre dans le temps et l’espace une expérience sonore et visuelle du monde animal. Ces fascinants spectacles nous rappellent cependant la distance qui nous en sépare.

Biographie

Henrik Håkansson

Henrik Håkansson

Henrik Håkansson est né en 1968 à Helsingborg, Suède, et vit actuellement à Berlin. Ses travaux portent sur l’observation et l’enregistrement d’écosystèmes et de microcosmes…

Lire plus

Biographie

Eadweard J. Muybridge

Eadweard J. Muybridge

Né en Angleterre en 1830, Eadweard J. Muybridge émigre aux États-Unis à l’âge de 22 ans et s’établit à San Francisco, où il commence à travailler comme éditeur. Il retourne ensuite en Angleterre afin d’y…

Lire plus