Jan Švankmajer

Jan Švankmajer, Down to the Cellar (still), 1983, colour film, 15 min. Courtesy of the Slovak Film Institute.

Jan Švankmajer, Down to the Cellar (still), 1983, colour film, 15 min. Courtesy of the Slovak Film Institute.

Jan Švankmajer, Zahrada / The Garden (still), 35 mm film, black & white, sound, 16 min. Courtesy of Athanor Film Production Company Ltd.

Jan Švankmajer, Byt / The Flat (still), 1968, 35 mm film,
black & white, sound, 12 min. Courtesy of Athanor Film Production Company Ltd.

View of the exhibition Jan Švankmajer, VOX, from Jun 8 to August 11, 2012.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Jan Švankmajer, VOX, from Jun 8 to August 11, 2012.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2012.06.08-08.11

Jan Švankmajer

Curator
Marie J. Jean

Opening June 7, 2012

Jan Švankmajer’s Political Allegories

MARIE J. JEAN

Jan Švankmajer is an experimental animation filmmaker whose career was backdropped by a rigid socialist structure; his oeuvre deeply bears the imprint of the radical political changes that affected Czechoslovakia in the postwar years. Švankmajer’s route to a life in cinema began in puppet theatre, beginning with the Semafor Theatre in Prague, where he founded the Theatre of Masks. He later joined the Laterna Magika Theatre, famed for its multimedia, non-verbal approach, in 1962. There he was to have a decisive encounter with Emil Radok, who introduced him to filmmaking. In 1970, Švankmajer and his spouse, the artist and writer Eva Švankmajerovà, joined the Czech Surrealist Group in Prague. A key feature of Czech surrealism was its antidogmatic leftism. The movement, born in the mid-1930s, had been swiftly banned in the wake of the 1948 Communist putsch; the seminal text under attack was Karel Teige’s 1938 brochure Surrealismus proti proudu (Surrealism against the Current), which equated the Stalinist dictatorship with fascism. Jan Švankmajer’s surrealism is is much more about taking anti-totalitarian stances than espousing an aesthetic current.

In his film universe, things are animated into strange and impossible worlds. In Czech surrealist theory, the aim is to reinstate the subconscious dimension of subjectivity so often repressed in contexts of totalitarianism. Byt / The Flat (1968) (exemplifies) this approach: a man is thrust into an apartment that transforms into a hostile environment. Little by little he is rendered powerless by suddenly animate objects that thwart his every effort to regain the outside world (which is unknown to him, as is the reason he finds himself in the flat). All obvious signs of the concrete realm of substance and rationality are lost. All that will remain of the man is his name, Josef, signed on a wall. Švankmajer’s films often reference the concept of reification, whereby the relations among beings take the form of relations among things. This instrumental treatment of the individual is also the theme in Zahrada / The Garden (1968), one of the rare works by the filmmaker that does not rely entirely on animation. Though it is set in a “real world” of live action, the effect is no less bizarre. The film begins with the sight, and sound, of two streams of urine entering a metal pot. Two men then get into a car and head for the home of the driver, who talks about his passion for gardening, and seems touched by the presence of his passenger, Frank, whom he has not seen for several years. As they arrive at the house, Frank is stunned to discover that it is ringed by a group of people. They are holding hands, forming a fence and gate, complete with a lock, which the owner proceeds to unlock as if it were the most natural thing in the world. The gate opens and the men enter the house and garden. The tiny gestures exchanged by the people making up this strange gate tell us about the different relationships between them: love, play, rebellion, denunciation, resignation. “Why are they there?” Frank finally asks. The answer comes whispered into his ear, and while we cannot hear, we understand the reason: it is more or less always the same in any repressive political regime.

Obsessions of childhood are another recurrent theme in Švankmajer’s works. In the 1982 short Do pivnice / Down to the Cellar, he blends animation techniques—specifically stop motion—with live action, fractional editing and rapid camera movements to render palpable the fears of a young girl who must descend below ground to fetch some potatoes. Švankmajer uses animation as a formidable conceptual tool, capable of expressing the tensions between reality and the phantasmagoric, language and repression, the individual and the political, freedom and authority. The post-Stalinist totalitarian regime that ruled Czechoslovakia in the wake of the 1968 Prague Spring expressed its distate for Švankmajer’s particular interpretation of reality by censoring his films and forbidding him from making another for seven years.

These three short films are intrinsically linked to the theme of freedom, and every facet of the indignation and rebellion undergirding them. In today’s times of social and political agitation, which are seeing large power structures challenged once again as an emerging generation attempts to construct new narratives for society, Jan Švankmajer’s political allegories retain powerful relevance.

Biography

Jan Švankmajer

Jan Švankmajer

Jan Švankmajer was born in 1934 in Prague, where he still lives. He trained at the Institute of Applied Arts (1950-1954) and at the Prague Academy of Performing Arts, in the Department of Puppetry. He soon became…

Read more

Journal # 36 - 06.2012

Read the online journal for the exhibitions Jan Švankmajer and Melanie Gilligan

Jan Švankmajer

Jan Švankmajer, Down to the Cellar, image fixe, 1983, film couleur, 15 min. Avec l’aimable permission de la Slovak Film Institute, Slovaquie.

Jan Švankmajer, Down to the Cellar, image fixe, 1983, film couleur, 15 min. Avec l’aimable permission de la Slovak Film Institute, Slovaquie. 

Jan Švankmajer, Zahrada / The Garden, image fixe, film 35 mm, noir et blanc, son, 16 min. Avec l’aimable permission de Athanor Film Production Company Ltd.

Jan Švankmajer, Byt / The Flat, image fixe, 1968, film 35 mm, noir et blanc, son, 12 min. Avec l’aimable permission de Athanor Film Production Company Ltd.

Vue de l’exposition Jan Švankmajer, VOX, du 8 juin au 11 août 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Jan Švankmajer, VOX, du 8 juin au 11 août 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2012.06.08 - 08.11

Jan Švankmajer

Commissaire
Marie J. Jean

Vernissage le 7 juin 2012

Les allégories politiques de Jan Švankmajer

MARIE. J. JEAN

Jan Švankmajer est un cinéaste d’animation expérimentale qui a entrepris sa carrière dans une structure socialiste rigide et dont l’œuvre est profondément marquée par les changements politiques radicaux qui ont eu cours en Tchécoslovaquie après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Il parvient au cinéma par le théâtre de marionnettes et commence sa carrière au Théâtre Semafor de Prague où il fonde le Théâtre des Masques avant de rejoindre en 1962 le célèbre Théâtre Laterna Magika, caractérisé par son approche multimédia et non verbale. C’est dans ce contexte qu’il fait la connaissance décisive d’Emil Radok, lequel l’initie au cinéma. En 1970, il rejoint avec sa conjointe Eva Švankmajerovà, artiste et écrivaine, le groupe surréaliste de Prague. Le surréalisme tchèque se caractérise par ses positions politiques de gauche anti-dogmatiques. Il a été banni dès 1948, suite au putsch communiste, en raison de la publication en 1938 d’un texte de Karel Teige paru dans Surrealismus proti proudu (Surréalisme contre le courant) dans lequel il compare les dictateurs stalinistes aux fascistes. Pour Švankmajer, le surréalisme représente bien davantage une position rebelle anti-totalitaire qu’un courant esthétique.

Dans son univers filmique, les choses s’animent de manière à produire des environnements étranges et impossibles qui, sur le plan théorique du surréalisme tchèque, visent à restituer la dimension subconsciente de la subjectivité souvent réprimée dans les contextes totalitaires. Byt / The Flat (1968) est exemplaire de cette approche : un homme est jeté à l’intérieur d’un appartement qui se transforme en un environnement hostile. L’homme est ainsi peu à peu réduit à l’impuissance par des objets qui s’animent et mettent en échec toute tentative de retrouver le monde extérieur, lequel demeure par ailleurs inconnu tout comme la raison de sa présence dans ce lieu. Le monde concret de la substance et de la raison perd toute forme d’évidence. Tout ce qui restera de cet homme, appelé Josef, est une signature sur un mur. Souvent on perçoit dans les films de Švankmajer une référence au concept de réification où les relations entre les êtres prennent la forme de relations entre des choses. Le traitement instrumental des individus est aussi le thème de Zahrada / The Garden (1968) qui est un des rares films du réalisateur tchèque où les techniques d’animation ne sont pas exploitées puisque les scènes sont campées dans le monde réel quoique l’effet ne soit pas moins marqué d’étrangeté. Le film s’ouvre sur la vue et le son de deux jets d’urine dans un pot de métal. Deux hommes montent ensuite en voiture pour se rendre à la propriété du conducteur. Ce dernier discute de sa passion du jardinage et semble attendri par la présence de son ami Frank qu’il n’a pas vu depuis de nombreuses années. Ils arrivent à la maison qui est, comme le découvre Frank avec stupéfaction, entourée d’individus. Toutes ces personnes se tiennent main dans la main de manière à former une clôture munie d’une serrure que le propriétaire ouvre, le plus naturellement du monde, pour permettre leur passage jusqu’à la maison et au jardin. Les petits gestes que s’échangent les personnes formant cette étonnante clôture nous informent de leurs diverses relations : amour, jeu, rébellion, dénonciation, résignation. « Why are they there? » finit par demander Frank. La réponse lui est chuchotée à l’oreille et, bien que nous ne l’entendions pas, nous en comprenons la raison qui est plus ou moins toujours la même dans les régimes politiques répressifs.

Les obsessions qui marquent l’enfance sont également un thème récurrent de l’œuvre de Švankmajer. Il réalise le film Do pivnice / Down to the Cellar en 1982 dans lequel le mélange des techniques d’animation – en particulier le stop motion – avec des prises de vue directe ainsi qu’un montage fractionné permettent de rendre palpables les terreurs d’une jeune enfant qui doit descendre à la cave pour aller chercher des pommes de terre. Švankmajer utilise l’animation comme un outil conceptuel redoutable capable d’exprimer les tensions qui existent entre la réalité et la fantasmagorie, entre le langage et la répression, entre l’individu et le politique, entre la liberté et l’autorité. Le régime totalitaire post-stalinien, qui caractérisait alors le communisme tchécoslovaque suite au Printemps de Prague (1968), s’opposera à sa manière d’interpréter la réalité en censurant ses films et en lui interdisant d’en produire de nouveaux pendant sept ans.

Ces trois courts films sont intrinsèquement liés au thème de la liberté et à tous les aspects de l’indignation ou de la rébellion qui y sont subordonnés. À une époque d’agitation sociale et politique, où les grandes structures de pouvoir sont une fois de plus contestées et où la génération émergente tente d’imaginer de nouveaux scénarios sociaux, les allégories politiques de Jan Švankmajer demeurent, encore aujourd’hui, d’une grande actualité.

Biographie

Jan Švankmajer

Jan Švankmajer

Jan Švankmajer est né en 1934 à Prague, où il vit toujours. Il a étudié à l’École des arts appliqués (1950-1954) et à l’Académie des arts de la scène de Prague, dans le département des marionnettes…

Lire plus

Journal # 36 - 06.2012

Consultez le journal des expositions Jan Švankmajer et Melanie Gilligan en ligne