Melanie Gilligan

Melanie Gilligan, Popular Unrest (video stills), 2010, Multi-episode video drama, HD Video. Courtesy of the artist.

Melanie Gilligan, Popular Unrest (video stills), 2010, Multi-episode video drama, HD Video. Courtesy of the artist.

Melanie Gilligan, Crisis in the Credit System (video still), 2008, four-part drama, video. Courtesy of the artist.

Melanie Gilligan, Crisis in the Credit System (video still), 2008, four-part drama, video. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Melanie Gilligan, VOX, from June 8 to August 11, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Melanie Gilligan, VOX, from June 8 to August 11, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Melanie Gilligan, VOX, from June 8 to August 11, 2013.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2012.06.08-08.11


Melanie Gilligan

Opening June 7, 2012

Affect & Exchange

MELANIE GILLIGAN

The essay was originally published in Fillip 16 (Spring 2012). It will be included in Intangible Economies edited by Antonia Hirsch, forthcoming by Fillip Editions Fall 2012. The essay is available online.

POPULAR UNREST

London-based Canadian artist Melanie Gilligan’s newest multi-episode drama, Popular Unrest, presents surreal, satirical and disturbing narratives based on the current state of politics, the public realm, and the recent global economic crisis.

Rather than take a documentary approach to its subject matter, the film offers a fictional future, in which all monetary exchanges and social interactions are overseen by a system called ‘the Spirit’. Its five episodes center on eight unrelated people who are mysteriously drawn together to form a group. When assembled they feel a deep and persistent sense of connection. They are not the only ones; this phenomenon of ‘groupings’ is happening world-wide. Meanwhile, a rash of mysterious and disturbing killings has broken out across the globe. These murders often take place in public but witnesses never see an assailant. As the story develops, the killings become the thread that ties the group to ‘the Spirit’, but they need to discover how and why.

Popular Unrest explores a world in which the self is reduced to a biology directly subjected to the needs of capital. Hotels offer bed-warming servants with every room, people are fined for not preventing foreseeable illness, the overweight consume foods that waste the body from within, and the unemployed repay their debt to society in physical energy. If on the one hand this suggests the complete domination of life by exchange value do the newly formed groups offer a way out?

Shot in London with a cast of twelve main actors, Popular Unrest is partly inspired by David Cronenberg’s ‘body horror’ and American television dramas like Bones, CSI and Dexter, in which reality is perceived through a pornographic forensics of empirical and visceral phenomena. As with Gilligan’s recent video works, the film’s episodic structure takes its cue from television and its ability to dispense a storyline in stages.

Popular Unrest was co-commissioned by Chisenhale Gallery, London; Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne; Walter Phillips Gallery, The Banff Centre; and Presentation House Gallery, North Vancouver. Supported by Galleria Franco Soffiantino, Turin and the Arts Council of England.

popularunrest.org

CRISIS IN THE CREDIT SYSTEM

Crisis in the Credit System is a four-part drama dealing with the credit crisis. It was released at the start of October 2008, two weeks after the Lehman Brothers collapse.

A major investment bank runs a brainstorming and role-playing session for its employees, asking them to come up with strategies for coping with today’s dangerous financial climate. Role-playing their way into increasingly bizarre scenarios, they find themselves drawing disturbing conclusions about the deeper significance of the crisis and its effects beyond the world of finance.

Using fiction to communicate what is left out of documentary accounts of the crisis, the short, TV-style episodes reflect the strangeness of life today in which the financial abstractions that govern our lives appear to be collapsing.

Crisis in the Credit System, commissioned and produced by Artangel Interaction, is the result of extensive research and conversation with major hedge fund managers, key financial journalists, economists, bankers and debt activists.

www.crisisinthecreditsystem.org.uk

Biography

Melanie Gilligan

Melanie Gilligan

Melanie Gilligan, born in Toronto in 1979, currently lives and works in London and New York. She completed a B.A. (Hons) in Fine Art at Central Saint Martins, London (2002) and was a Fellow with the Whitney Museum…

Read more

Journal # 36 - 06.2012

Read the online journal for the exhibitions Melanie Gilligan and Jan Švankmajer

Event

Colonization of thought: art, economy and politics
2012.12.10 - 20.10

Mindful of contributing to the advancement of discourse on current issues, VOX is organizing two series of gatherings this fall developed by Vincent Bonin, Barbara Clausen and Marie J. Jean.

Read more

Melanie Gilligan

Melanie Gilligan, Popular Unrest, image fixe, 2010, dramatique en plusieurs épisodes, vidéo HD. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Melanie Gilligan, Popular Unrest, image fixe, 2010, dramatique en plusieurs épisodes, vidéo HD. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Melanie Gilligan, Crisis in the Credit System, image fixe, 2008, dramatique en quatre épisodes, vidéo. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Melanie Gilligan, Popular Unrest, image fixe, 2010, dramatique en plusieurs épisodes, vidéo HD. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Melanie Gilligan, VOX, du 8 juin au 11 août 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Melanie Gilligan, VOX, du 8 juin au 11 août 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Melanie Gilligan, VOX, du 8 juin au 11 août 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2012.06.08 - 08.11


Melanie Gilligan

Vernissage le 7 juin 2012

Affect et échange

MELANIE GILLIGAN

L’essai a été publié dans la revue Fillip 16 au printemps 2012. Il sera reproduit dans l’ouvrage Intangible Economies, publié sous la direction d’Antonia Hirsch aux éditions Fillip, Vancouver, qui paraîtra à l’automne 2012. L’essai est disponible en ligne.


POPULAR UNREST

Popular Unrest
, la plus récente dramatique en plusieurs épisodes de Melanie Gilligan, artiste canadienne établie à Londres, présente des récits surréels, satiriques et inquiétants inspirés de l’état actuel de la politique, de la sphère publique et de la crise économique mondiale.

Plûtot que de traiter du sujet avec une approche documentaire, le film propose un futur imaginé dans lequel l’ensemble des échanges monétaires et des interactions sociales sont supervisées par un système surnommé “the Spirit”. Ses cinq épisodes se concentrent sur huit personnages n’entretenant aucun lien entre eux, mais qui sont mystérieusement réunis pour former un groupe. Une fois rassemblés, ils éprouvent un profond sentiment d’appartenance. Ils ne sont pas les seuls; ce phénomène de “regroupement” se produit à l’échelle de la planète. Simultanément, une vague d’assassinats mystérieuse et inquiétante éclate à travers le monde. Ces meurtres surviennent en public, mais les témoins ne voient jamais d’assaillant. Alors que l’intrigue se développe, les meurtres s’avèrent être ce qui uni le groupe à “the Spirit”, mais ils doivent découvrir le comment et le pourquoi.

Popular Unrest explore un monde dans lequel l’identité est réduite à son aspect biologique, directement assujettie aux besoins du capital. Les hôtels fournissent des domestiques pour réchauffer les lits dans chacune des chambres, les gens reçoivent des amendes pour ne pas avoir su éviter des maladies prévisibles, les personnes souffrant d’embonpoint consomment des aliments qui putréfient leurs entrailles, les chômeurs doivent rembourser leur dette à la société en énergie physique. Si cette situation suppose une domination entière de la vie par les valeurs d’échange économique, est-ce que les regroupements nouvellement formés offrent une issue?

Tourné à Londres avec une distribution comptant douze acteurs principaux, Popular Unrest s’inspire entre autres du “body horror” du réalisateur David Cronenberg ainsi que de séries dramatiques américaines tels que BonesCSI, et Dexter, dans lesquels la réalité de phénomènes empiriques et viscéraux est perçue sous la lentille d’une expertise médio-légale quasi pornographique. Comme dans les œuvres vidéo récentes de Gilligan, la structure épisodique du film s’inspire de la télévision et de sa capacité à présenter une narration en plusieurs étapes.

Popular Unrest a été commandé par la Chisenhale Gallery, Londres; Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne; Walter Phillips Gallery, The Banff Centre, et la Presentation House Gallery, North Vancouver. Soutenu par la Galleria Franco Soffiantino, Turin et le Arts Council of England.

popularunrest.org


CRISIS IN THE CREDIT SYSTEM

Crisis in the Credit System est une dramatique en quatre épisodes qui traite de la crise du crédit. L’œuvre fut présentée au début du mois d’octobre 2008, deux semaines après la faillite de Lehman Brothers.

Une grande banque d’investissement propose une session de remue-méninge et de jeux de rôle à ses employés, leur demandant d’imaginer des stratégies pour faire face aux dangers de l’actuel climat financier. Invités à jouer leur rôle dans des scénarios toujours plus étranges, ils en viennent à tirer des conclusions troublantes au sujet des significations profondes de la crise et sur ses répercutions, qui dépassent le cadre du monde de la finance.

En faisant usage de la fiction pour exprimer ce qui est laissé pour compte par un traitement documentaire de la crise, les courts épisodes de style télévisuel, reflètent l’étrangeté de la vie d’aujourd’hui, où les abstractions financières qui la régissent semblent s’effondrer.

Crisis in the Credit System, commandée et produite par Artangel Interaction est le résultat de recherches approfondies et d’entretiens avec de grands gestionnaires de hedge funds, certains journalistes clés du milieu de la finance, des économistes, des banquiers et des militants contre la dette.

www.crisisinthecreditsystem.org.uk

Biographie

Melanie Gilligan

Melanie Gilligan

Melanie Gilligan, née à Toronto en 1979, vit et travaille actuellement à Londres et à New York. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de la Central Saint Martins, Londres (2002) et a été boursière au Whitney Museum of American Art’s…

Lire plus

Journal # 36 - 06.2012

Consultez le journal des expositions Melanie Gilligan et Jan Švankmajer en ligne

Événement

Colonisation de la pensée : art, économie et politique
2012.10.16 - 10.20

Soucieux de contribuer à l’avancement de la réflexion sur des enjeux d’actualité, VOX organise deux séries de rencontres à l’automne 2012 développées par Vincent Bonin, Barbara Clausen et Marie J. Jean.

Lire plus