Nathalie Melikian

Nathalie Melikian, Action, still, 1999, video, 8 min. Courtesy of the artist.

View of the exhibition Nathalie Melikian, VOX, from January 8 to February 12, 2005.

Credit: Frédéric Bouchard.
2005.01.08 - 02.12

Nathalie Melikian

Opening January 8, 2005

Formula Film Making: Nathalie Melikian’s Film Installations

OLIVIER ASSELIN

Contemporary art definitely has a great interest in the cinema. The so-called “visual” arts have, ever since the birth of the “seventh art”, undoubtedly always been interested in film, with, for example, the historical avant-gardes of the early twentieth century, and minimalism and conceptual art in the 1960s and 1970s. Over the past fifteen years, the cinema has once again become a privileged subject in the visual arts, as seen in the work of a number of artists – Jeff Wall, Stan Douglas, Geneviève Cadieux, Douglas Gordon, Mark Lewis, Matthew Barney, and more – and several exhibitions on the subject – from The Projected Image to Future Cinema and Hitchcock – to name only the most obvious examples. Within the visual arts, artists have been drawn to different facets of cinema: some have been attracted to the technological aspects of filming, others to issues of spectatorship and projection, and still others to the narrative forms of fiction film.

Nathalie Melikian’s work fits within this heightened interest in the cinema. It is both contemporary art and cinema: films and installations, film installations and installation films. Cinema is here inseparable from its mode of presentation – projected on widescreen – and reception – as a collective experience, at least potentially.

Action (1999), for example, is a film loop projected onto a giant screen in the gallery space. As its title indicates, it is an action film, an ordinary action film – with a hero, a heroine, bad guys, a central conflict, love, chase scenes, gun shots, killings, and so on, and a rich soundtrack.

But what is unique about this film is that it has no dialogue and, above all, no images. On the screen, title cards simply file past: words, sentences, paragraphs, black on a white background, separated by dissolves, generally at the same rhythm – like a silent film that overuses intertitles or a credit sequence that is too long (the procedure also recalls Michael Snow’s film So Is This).

These texts describe the film that we do not see: the story, location, protagonists, action, camera movements, editing, sound, music, etc. The texts describe all this, however, in an elliptical and very general manner. They are often incomplete and vague, even a single word or phrase: “Action,” “Scene,” “Hero, Tall and Handsome,” “Bad Ass Villain,” “Big Breasted Blonde Woman,” “Airport,” “Exterior City. Day,” “Bomb Ticking,” “Blood Bath,” “Endless Failed Escape Attempts,” “Dialogue,” “Close Up,” “Angle Shot,” “Circular Pan,” “Travelling Shot,” “Crane Down From High Angle,” “Frame,” “Cut To,” “Dissolve,” “Build Up,” “Actual Sound,” “Voice Over,” “Bridge Music,” and so on.

Because the film is replaced by its description, its images by text, there is little to see in these works. But they leave much to the imagination. The melodramatic words, sounds, and music, obviously produce many mental images. A method such as this reveals the role of the imagination in the cinematographic experience as a whole, which always fills in the gaps left by the image – the before, the after, the near, the far, the off-screen, the gloomy, the blurry, etc. It also reveals the importance of sound and music in the cinema, and in mainstream cinema in particular, where they have probably become the most effective ways of ensuring the audience’s immersion in the story, creating an emotional response, and facilitating our understanding and interpretation of the film.

Here, however, the method is essentially parodic in nature. The film is a kind of remake, an ironic and not unapologetic remake. The language used to describe this absent film calls to mind the often simplistic and always condensed style of the scripts of commercial films, which, in order to minimize the time it takes to read and interpret them, go straight to the heart of the matter. Shown like this in an art gallery setting, this language becomes rather comical.

In this work, the description is often so general that it seems to address less a specific film than a film genre; to get right to the point, the commercial action film. And in this way, the text often surreptitiously passes from the simplistic language of the industryto the critical meta-language of cinema studies, which analyses the prevailing forms of the genre: “Formula Film Making,” “Good Guys/Bad Guys,” “FX Scenes, Everyone Dies Except the Hero and His Girl,” “Melodrama,” “No One Will Shoot at the Hero While He Is Crying in Agony Over the Loss of His Friend. The Battle Will Resume as Soon as He Is Over His Grief and Gets Angry. The Hero Will Be Victorious Within 45 Seconds of Becoming Angry.” Sound effects, clichés, and conventional music reinforce this analytical dimension.

Melikian’s works thus share some features with scholarly criticism of mainstream cinema, which is essentially American. They contribute in their way to the study of that cinema’s narrative conventions and political ideology, particularly the ideology of militarism, genre stereotypes, and images of masculinity and femininity, which it is constantly extending.

Contemporary art’s interest in the cinema is thus often a critical interest. It works to reveal, analyse, deconstruct, and even denounce the forms and content of a kind of dominant cinema, sometimes for aesthetic or historical reasons, but especially for moral and political reasons. This critical interest is a sign, no doubt, of the importance of film studies within visual studies, within the range of disciplines studying the image, particularly art history and studio art. But it is a sign, above all, of the cinema’s popularity and influence today.

Why is contemporary art today interested more in cinema than in television, or the Internet for example, which are just as popular, influential, and problematic as the cinema, if not more?

It may be that beneath this critical interest in a dominant social form lies an emotional fascination with an art that leaves no one indifferent. From this perspective, what contemporary art reveals above all is the central role that cinema still plays in the collective imagination, in both “high” and “low” culture.

But why does the cinema fascinate us so much, the way no other art and no other image does? Why does it still fascinate us so much today?

It is normal for a kind of artistic expression to be interested in a new technology, for an art form to be interested in an emerging industry, if only to size up the competition threatening to replace it or limit its influence. And this is no doubt why visual art first became interested in the cinema. In the early twentieth century, the cinema quickly became a serious rival to all the image arts, and to all the other arts as well. Some artistic practices may have initially rejected the cinema, but many ended up trying to assimilate it by using its technology or imitating its content, forms, apparatus, or effects.

Today, however, other forms of spectacle and other images have appeared – more efficient, more entertaining, and also more profitable. And yet the visual arts, like many other arts, keep returning to the cinema. But they return in a different manner: no longer to drive out a fear of the future, but perhaps, on the contrary, through a kind of nostalgia. It is as if the cinematic image, more than any other image today, can reveal a truth that the din of electronic images renders inaudible. It is as if that image, which Benjamin said was going to help destroy the aura of the work of art, has become, through a singular reversal of history, the aura’s last refuge: the site of a real presence, of a sacred quality, if not of meaning.

Nathalie Melikian’s installations may well formulate a critique of a kind of cinema by condemning its images in an iconoclastic gesture; still, they succumb to the fascination of the most archaic qualities of the cinematic apparatus. These projections of light and sound in this darkened room invite us to immerse ourselves in the same way the magic lantern did before them – to our great delight.

Biography

Nathalie Melikian

Nathalie Melikian

Nathalie Melikian lives and works in Vancouver. Since the late 1990s, she has been creating videos in which she calls into question and analyses the narrative structures of various film genres…

Read more

Journal # 13 - 01.2005

Read the online journal for the exhibition Nathalie Melikian

Nathalie Melikian

Nathalie Melikian, Action (extrait), 1999, vidéo, 8 min. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Vue de l’exposition Nathalie Melikian, VOX du 8 janvier au 12 février 2005.

Crédit : Frédéric Bouchard.
2005.01.08 - 02.12

Nathalie Melikian

Vernissage le 8 janvier 2005

Formula Film Making : les installations cinématographiques de Nathalie Melikian

OLIVIER ASSELIN

L’art contemporain s’intéresse décidément beaucoup au cinéma. Les arts dits « visuels » s’y sont toujours intéressés sans doute, à l’avènement du septième art, bien sûr, et régulièrement depuis lors, avec les avant-gardes historiques au début du XXe siècle par exemple ou encore autour de l’art minimal et conceptuel dans les années soixante et soixante-dix. Mais depuis une quinzaine d’années, le cinéma est redevenu un objet privilégié de réflexion dans les arts visuels, comme en témoignent de nombreuses œuvres – Jeff Wall, Stan Douglas, Geneviève Cadieux, Douglas Gordon, Mark Lewis, Matthew Barney, etc. – et plusieurs expositions sur le sujet – depuis Passages de l’image jusqu’à Future Cinema en passant par Hitchcock – pour ne nommer que les plus visibles. L’intérêt des arts visuels pour le cinéma n’a pas toujours été le même : certains ont retenu du cinéma les aspects techniques de l’appareil d’enregistrement, d’autres le dispositif spectatoriel de la projection, d’autres encore les formes narratives du cinéma de fiction.

Les œuvres de Nathalie Melikian s’incrivent dans cette mouvance. Elles relèvent à la fois de l’art contemporain et du cinéma : ce sont des films et des installations, des installations filmiques ou des films installés. Le cinéma est ici indissociable de son mode de présentation – une projection sur grand écran – et de réception – une expérience plutôt collective, au moins potentiellement.

Action (1999), par exemple, est ainsi un film présenté en boucle sur un écran géant dans l’espace de la galerie. Comme son titre l’indique, il s’agit d’un film d’action, un film d’action comme les autres – avec un héros, une héroïne, des méchants, un conflit central, de l’amour, des poursuites, des coups de feu, des morts, etc., – et une riche bande sonore.

Mais, chose singulière, le film ne présente aucun dialogue et, surtout, aucune image : sur l’écran, simplement, des cartons se succèdent, des mots, des phrases, des paragraphes, en noir sur fond blanc, séparés par des fondus, généralement au même rythme – comme un film muet qui aurait abusé des cartons, comme un générique trop long (le procédé rappelle aussi So Is This de Michael Snow). Ces phrases décrivent le film que nous ne voyons pas : l’histoire, les lieux, les protagonistes, les actions, les mouvements de caméra, le montage, le son, la musique, etc.

Mais ces phrases décrivent tout cela de manière elliptique et, surtout, très générale, elles sont souvent incomplètes et vagues, comme un simple mot : « Action », « Scene », « Hero, Tall and Handsome », « Bad Ass Villain », « Big Breasted Blonde Woman », « Airport », « Exterior City. Day », « Bomb Ticking », « Blood Bath », « Endless Failed Escape Attempts », « Dialogue », « Close Up », « Angle Shot », « Circular Pan », « Travelling Shot », « Crane Down From High Angle », « Frame », « Cut To », « Dissolve », « Build Up », « Actual Sound », « Voice Over », « Bridge Music », etc.

En remplaçant le film par sa description, l’image par du texte, ces œuvres donnent peu à voir. Mais elles laissent beaucoup à imaginer. Ces mots, ces sons et cette musique mélodramatiques produisent évidemment bien des images mentales. Un tel dispositif manifeste ainsi le rôle de l’imagination dans toute expérience cinématographique, qui comble toujours les lacunes de l’image réelle – l’avant, l’après, le proche, le lointain, le hors champ, le sombre, le flou, etc. Il manifeste aussi l’importance du son et de la musique dans le cinéma, dans le cinéma dominant en particulier, où il est probablement devenu le moyen le plus efficace pour assurer l’immersion, susciter des sentiments, faciliter la compréhension du film et son interprétation.

Mais ici, le dispositif est essentiellement parodique. Le film relève du remake, du remake ironique et non pas apologétique. Le langage utilisé ici pour décrire ce film absent évoque en effet le style, souvent primaire, toujours condensé, des scénarios de films plus commerciaux, qui, pour minimiser le temps de lecture et d’interprétation, vont droit à l’« essentiel ». Ainsi présenté dans le contexte de la galerie d’art, ce langage prête à sourire.

La description ici, est souvent si générale qu’elle semble porter moins sur un film particulier que sur un genre de film, disons, pour aller vite, le film d’action commercial. Et ainsi, du langage primaire de l’industrie, le texte passe souvent subrepticement au méta-langage critique des études cinématographiques, qui analysent les formes reçues du genre : « Formula Film Making », « Good Guys / Bad Guys », « FX Scenes, Everyone Dies Except The Hero and His Girl », « Melodrama », « No One Will Shoot At The Hero While He Is Crying In Agony Over The Loss Of His Friend. The Battle Will Resume As Soon As He Is Over His Grief And Gets Angry. The Hero Will Be Victorious Within 45 Seconds Of Becoming Angry ». Les effets sonores, clichés, et la musique, convenue, renforcent cette dimension analytique.

Les œuvres de Melikian participent ainsi de la critique savante du cinéma dominant, essentiellement américain. Elles contribuent à leur manière à l’étude des conventions narratives de ce cinéma-là, de l’idéologie politique qu’il véhicule, de l’idéologie guerrière en particulier, des stéréotypes de genre, des images de la masculinité et de la féminité, qu’il ne cesse de reconduire.

L’intérêt de l’art contemporain pour le cinéma est souvent ainsi critique. Il s’agit encore de révéler, d’analyser, de déconstruire, de dénoncer même, les formes et les contenus d’un certain cinéma dominant, pour des raisons esthétiques ou historiques parfois, pour des raisons morales et politiques surtout. Cet intérêt critique témoigne sans doute de l’importance des film studies dans les visual studies, des études cinématographiques dans l’ensemble des disciplines de l’image, notamment en histoire de l’art et dans la formation artistique. Mais il témoigne surtout de la popularité et de l’influence actuelles du cinéma.

Mais pourquoi l’art contemporain s’intéresse-t-il aujourd’hui plus au cinéma qu’à la télévision, à Internet par exemple, qui sont des phénomènes aussi sinon plus populaires, influents et problématiques que le cinéma ?

Il est possible que, sous cet intérêt critique pour une forme sociale dominante, se manifeste une fascination affective pour un art qui ne laisse personne indifférent. De ce point de vue, l’art contemporain révélerait surtout la place centrale qu’occupe encore le cinéma dans notre imaginaire à tous, dans la culture dite « populaire », comme dans la culture dite « savante ».

Mais pourquoi le cinéma nous fascine-t-il tant, comme aucun art, comme aucune autre image ? Pourquoi nous fascine-t-il tant encore aujourd’hui ?

Il est normal qu’une forme d’expression artistique s’intéresse à une nouvelle technologie, un art à une industrie émergente, ne serait-ce que pour évaluer une concurrence qui menace de le supplanter ou de limiter son influence. Et c’est ainsi, sans doute, que les arts visuels se sont d’abord intéressés au cinéma. Au début du XXe siècle, le cinéma est vite devenu une concurrence sérieuse pour tous les arts de l’image, pour tous les autres arts aussi. Certaines pratiques artistiques ont peut-être commencé par rejeter le cinéma, mais plusieurs ont fini par tenter de l’assimiler, en utilisant sa technologie ou en imitant ses contenus, ses formes, son dispositif et ses effets.

Mais aujourd’hui, d’autres spectacles sont apparus, d’autres images, autrement plus efficaces, plus divertissantes, plus rentables aussi. Et pourtant, les arts visuels, comme bien d’autres arts d’ailleurs, ne cessent de revenir au cinéma. Mais ils y reviennent autrement : non plus pour conjurer quelque peur du futur, mais peut-être au contraire par une sorte de nostalgie. C’est comme si cette image-là, plus qu’aucune autre aujourd’hui, pouvait révéler quelque vérité que le bruit des images électroniques avait rendue inaudible. C’est comme si cette image, dont Benjamin disait qu’elle allait contribuer à détruire l’aura de l’œuvre d’art, en était devenue, par un singulier retournement de l’histoire, le dernier refuge : le lieu de la présence réelle, du sacré, sinon du sens.

Les installations de Nathalie Melikian ont beau faire la critique d’un certain cinéma en condamnant l’image dans un geste iconoclaste, elles n’en succombent pas moins à la fascination du dispositif cinématographique dans ce qu’il a de plus archaïque. Ces projections lumineuses et sonores dans cette salle obscure invitent à l’immersion comme jadis les séances de lanterne magique – pour notre plus grand plaisir.

Biographie

Nathalie Melikian

Nathalie Melikian

Nathalie Melikian vit et travaille à Vancouver. Depuis la fin des années 1990, elle réalise des œuvres vidéographiques dans lesquelles elle remet en question et analyse les structures…

Lire plus

Journal # 13 - 01.2005

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Nathalie Melikian en ligne