Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image

Trevor Gould, Darwin’s Nose, still, 2011, HD video, 22 min 47 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Trevor Gould, Darwin’s Nose, still, 2011, HD video, 22 min 47 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Trevor Gould, Darwin’s Nose, still, 2011, HD video, 22 min 47 sec. Courtesy of the artist.

Trevor Gould, Past, study for the project Darwin’s Nose, 2011, watercolour on Arches paper, 31 x 23 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Trevor Gould, Zoo Expo, study for the project Darwin’s Nose, 2011, watercolour on Arches paper, 31 x 23 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Trevor Gould, (History), study for the project Darwin’s Nose, 2011, watercolour on Arches paper, 31 x 23 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Hugo Wolfgang Rheinhold, Darwin : Eritis Sicut Deus, 1892, bronze, 33 x 22 x 19,2 cm. Bracken Health Sciences Library Collection, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario. Donated by Madame Phyllis Knight, 1979.

View of the exhibition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image, VOX, from September 7 to November 13, 2012.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image, VOX, from September 7 to November 13, 2012.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image, VOX, from September 7 to November 13, 2012.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.

View of the exhibition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image, VOX, from September 7 to November 13, 2012.

Credit: Paul Litherland.

View of the exhibition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image, VOX, from September 7 to November 13, 2012.

Credit: Michel Brunelle.
2012.09.07 - 10.13

Trevor Gould

Opening September 6, 2012

Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image

DOMINIQUE FONTAINE

The exhibition of recent works by Trevor Gould brings together sculptures, watercolours and a video. As a group these works offer new insight into Gould’s recent practice and, particularly, the expanded choice and themes and methodologies he uses to further underline our sense of humanness in relationship with nature.

The 19th century, in Western Europe and North America, wrote John Berger in Why Look at Animals?1, saw the beginning of a process, today being completed by corporate capitalism, by which every tradition that was previously mediated between man and nature was broken. Inspired by 19th-century artworks and Charles Darwin’s evolutionary theory, Trevor Gould’s Philosophy’s Self Image draws parallels between Darwin’s inductive method of scientific investigation, whereby close observation and the collection of purely descriptive data precludes postulation, and the formation of a hypothesis. The exhibition also refers to the allegorical convention of Western painting traditions that place animals in human contexts and contemporary cultural displays. Hugo Rheinhold’s statuette Darwin : Eritis Sicut Deus (“Darwin : you will be like God”), also known as Affe einen Schädel betrachtend (“Monkey regarding a Skull,” aka “Darwin’s Monkey,” [1892]) and paintings by Gabriel von Max illustrate Gould’s critical exploration on the relation of man and animal.

Philosophy’s Self Image suggests a new trajectory for Gould and fosters a significant stage of his practice. While much of Gould’s early work focussed on the appropriation of exhibition techniques—such as diorama, taxidermy, theatrical presentation and archival documents—to critique our relationships to nature, his recent works reflect on cross-species spaces of interaction as a philosophical attempt to make sense of what, as humans, we are and how we relate to the world.

In 2011, Gould presented an installation called Balancing Act in the orangutan exhibit of the Toronto Zoo where the starting point was a reflection on time (past, present, future) and an experiment with site and space. The interspecies installation creates a contact zone, a mode of engagement with the orang-utans. Using allegorical sculpture elements, Gould staged an installation to gain access to the world of the animals in the zoo as an attempt to understand what interests them, what affects them, and what motivates them. An integral component of the exhibition is the video documentary resulting from the Balancing Act installation, in which we see orang-utans interacting with sculptural elements. This video allows us to explore what could be called an animal phenomenology. It offers a different approach on interspecies relations and thus invites the viewer to consider human-animal relations from a different perspective.

Gould interest in philosophy forms the basis for the works in Philosophy’s Self Image. As in his previous work, a prime concern is the interior mapping that guides and mediates our actions and our sense of presence in the world. From the constructive process to interpretative explorations, his work focusses on recurring themes such as appropriation, power and representation. His work thus problematizes our awareness and understanding of cultural space. As such, Trevor Gould’s work can be interpreted as an exploration of the way images and objects represent the beliefs, attitudes and values in our social history.

As in the previous body of works, the new corpus embodies Gould’s commentaries on the transfer of cultural patterns and the appropriation of form, or a point of view from which to contemplate world geography, history and traditions. The recurring motifs, like the ape, serve as a metaphor for geographical locations and represent the domination of one culture over another. In most of his installations, Gould has appropriated exhibition apparatus and, in so doing, questioned the role of the institution and persistent imperialist symbols. Through this work, he has drawn on the symbolism of various flora and fauna, evoking a nature/culture relationship in order to explore issues of colonialism, post-colonialism and identity formation. The zoo, which represents one of the last monuments of 19th-century public colonial power, is a good example of the way we mediate our relationship to nature.

Beyond the way we think of our relationships to animals and the particular way we enter their world, Gould invites us to think and to feel from another point of view, and thus to question and reflect aesthetic as well as artistic questions in political dimensions. As the French philosopher Jacques Rancière highlights in The Politics of Aesthetics: The Distribution of the Sensible, the categories of the aesthetic and the political are connected through the sensually perceptible:

“I call the distribution of the sensible the system of self-evident facts of sense perception that simultaneously discloses the existence of something in common and the delimitations that define the respective parts and positions within it. A distribution of the sensible therefore establishes at one and the same time something common that is shared and exclusive parts. This apportionment of parts and positions is based on a distribution of spaces, times, and forms of activity that determines the very manner in which something in common lends itself to participation and in what way various individuals have a part in this distribution.” 2

1. John Berger, Why Look at Animals ? (London: Penguin Books, 2009).
2. Jacques Rancière, The Politics of Aesthetics: The Distribution of the Sensible, trans. Gabriel Rockhill, London: Continuum, 2006 (first published as Le partage du sensible : esthétique et politique, Paris: La fabrique éditions, 2000).

Biography

Trevor Gould

Trevor Gould

Trevor Gould lives and works in Montreal where he currently teaches sculpture at Concordia University. He holds a National Art Teachers’ Diploma from the Johannesburg College of Art, South Africa, a BA in…

Read more

Interview

Interview with Trevor Gould during the exhibition Philosophy’s Self Image.

See interview

Journal # 38 - 09.2012

Read the online journal for the exhibition Trevor GouldPhilosophy’s self image

Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s Self Image

Trevor Gould, Darwin’s Nose, images fixes, 2011, vidéo HD, 22 min 47 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Trevor Gould, Darwin’s Nose, images fixes, 2011, vidéo HD, 22 min 47 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Trevor Gould, Darwin’s Nose, images fixes, 2011, vidéo HD, 22 min 47 sec. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Trevor Gould, Past, étude pour le projet Darwin’s Nose, 2011, aquarelle sur papier Arches, 31 x 23 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

 

Trevor Gould, Zoo Expo, étude pour le projet Darwin’s Nose, 2011, aquarelle sur papier Arches, 31 x 23 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Trevor Gould, (History) Present, étude pour le projet Darwin’s Nose, 2011, aquarelle sur papier Arches, 31 x 23 cm. Avec l’aimable permission de l’artiste.

Hugo Wolfgang Rheinhold, Darwin : Eritis Sicut Deus, 1892, bronze, 33 x 22 x 19,2 cm. Collection Bracken Health Sciences Library, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario. Don de Madame Phyllis Knight, 1979.

 

Vue de l’exposition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s self image, VOX, du 7 septembre au 13 novembre 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s self image, VOX, du 7 septembre au 13 novembre 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s self image, VOX, du 7 septembre au 13 novembre 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.

Vue de l’exposition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s self image, VOX, du 7 septembre au 13 novembre 2012.

Crédit : Paul Litherland.

Vue de l’exposition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s self image, VOX, du 7 septembre au 13 novembre 2012.

Crédit : Michel Brunelle.
2012.09.07 - 10.13

Trevor Gould

Vernissage le 6 septembre 2012

Trevor Gould : Philosophy’s Self Image

DOMINIQUE FONTAINE

L’exposition s’organise autour des œuvres récentes de Trevor Gould. Elle présente des sculptures, des aquarelles et une vidéo. Cet ensemble d’objets et d’œuvres offre une nouvelle manière d’appréhender la pratique de Gould, qui se révèle, en particulier, dans le vaste choix de thèmes et de méthodologies dont il fait usage pour mettre en relief notre sens de l’humanité en relation avec la nature.

Le XIXe siècle en Europe de l’Ouest et en Amérique du Nord, selon ce qu’écrit John Berger dans Why Look at Animals ?1, a assisté à la naissance d’un processus – en voie d’être achevé par le capitalisme – au cours duquel toutes les traditions autrefois négociées entre l’humain et la nature ont été rompues. S’inspirant des œuvres d’art de ce siècle et de la théorie de l’évolution de Charles Darwin, Philosophy’s Self Image établit des parallèles entre la méthode inductive d’investigation scientifique de Darwin et la formation d’une hypothèse. L’exposition fait référence au code allégorique des traditions picturales occidentales, qui inscrit les animaux dans des contextes humains et des dispositifs d’exposition. La reconsidération de la relation entre humain et animal que suggère Gould fait également référence à la statuette Darwin : Eritis Sicut Deus (Darwin : vous serez comme Dieu), aussi connue sous le nom Affe einen Schädel betrachtend (Singe contemplant un crâne humain ou Singe de Darwin [1892]) de Hugo Rheinhold, et à certains tableaux de Gabriel von Max.

Philosophy’s Self Image propose donc une trajectoire nouvelle dans le travail de Gould, inaugurant une étape inédite dans sa démarche. Alors que dans la plupart des installations antérieures, l’artiste s’était approprié des dispositifs muséologiques – diorama, taxidermie, présentation théâtrale, documents d’archives – interrogeant ainsi notre rapport à la nature, son travail récent se fonde sur le potentiel réflexif et spéculatif de la philosophie. Il invite à une méditation métaphysique sur notre présence au monde.

Un élément central de l’exposition est la vidéo documentaire tirée de l’installation Balancing Act, série de sculptures installée dans l’enclos des orangs-outans du zoo de Toronto en 2011. Ce dispositif se présentait comme une réflexion sur le passage du temps (passé, présent, futur), une expérience in situ, une zone de contact ou un mode d’interaction avec les orangs-outans. L’utilisation d’éléments sculpturaux allégoriques permettait à Gould d’accéder au monde des animaux pour tenter de comprendre ce qui suscite leur intérêt, les anime et les motive. La vidéo issue de Balancing Act montre les orangs-outans en interaction avec les éléments sculpturaux, nous permettant d’explorer ce qu’on pourrait appeler une phénoménologie animale. Elle offre une nouvelle con-ception de nos rapports avec les animaux et invite le spectateur à considérer d’un point de vue autre les relations entre humains et animaux.

L’intérêt marqué de Gould pour la philosophie est à la base des œuvres de l’exposition Philosophy’s Self Image. À l’instar de son travail antérieur, il s’intéresse à la cartographie intérieure qui oriente et communique nos actions et notre sentiment de présence dans le monde. Du processus constructif aux explorations interprétatives, Gould privilégie des thèmes récurrents comme l’appropriation, le pouvoir et la représentation. Il aborde donc des enjeux liés à notre connaissance et à notre compréhension de l’espace culturel. En tant que tel, le travail de Trevor Gould peut être interprété comme une exploration de la manière dont les images et les objets représentent les croyances, les attitudes et les valeurs de notre histoire sociale.

Comme le corpus d’œuvres précédent, les travaux récents incarnent les observations de l’artiste sur le transfert de motifs culturels et l’appropriation de formes, ou un point de vue à partir duquel il est possible de contempler la géographie, l’histoire et les traditions culturelles. Les motifs récurrents, tel le singe, servent de métaphore à des emplacements géographiques et représentent la domination d’une culture sur une autre. Dans la plupart de ses installations, Gould s’approprie le dispositif d’exposition et, ce faisant, il met en question le rôle de l’institution et la persistance des symboles impérialistes. Trevor Gould s’est longtemps inspiré du symbolisme de diverses flores et faunes évoquant la relation nature/culture pour explorer des enjeux liés au colonialisme, au postcolonialisme et à la formation de l’identité. Le zoo, l’un des derniers monuments du pouvoir colonial au XIXe siècle, est un exemple éloquent de la manière dont nous négocions notre rapport à la nature.

Au-delà de la façon dont nous pensons nos relations avec les animaux et entrons dans leur monde, Gould nous incite à réfléchir, à ressentir autrement et à nous pencher sur certaines questions esthétiques et artistiques, en les considérant en termes politiques. Ainsi que le souligne le philosophe français Jacques Rancière dans Le partage du sensible : esthétique et politique, les catégories de l’esthétique et du politique sont reliées par ce qui est sensible :

« J’appelle partage du sensible ce système d’évidences sensibles qui donne à voir en même temps l’existence d’un commun et les découpages qui y définissent les places et les parts respectives. Un partage du sensible fixe donc en même temps un commun partagé et des parts exclusives. Cette répartition des parts et des places se fonde sur un partage des espaces, de temps et des formes d’activités qui détermine la manière même dont un commun se prête à participer et dont les uns et les autres ont part à ce partage2. »

1. John Berger, Why Look at Animals ?, Londres, Penguin Books, 2009.
2. Jacques Rancière, Le partage du sensible : esthétique et politique, Paris, La fabrique éditions, 2000.

Biographie

Trevor Gould

Trevor Gould

Trevor Gould vit et travaille à Montréal. Il détient un National Art Teachers’ Diploma du Johannesburg College of Art, Afrique du Sud, un baccalauréat…

Lire plus

Entretien

Entretien avec Trevor Gould dans le cadre de l’exposition Philosophy’s Self Image.

Voir l’entretien

Journal # 38 - 09.2012

Consultez le journal de l’exposition Trevor Gould. Philosophy’s self image en ligne