Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle

Vera Greenwood, This one’s a keeper—full frontal close-up of Sophie Calle.

Vera Greenwood, My first vantage point outside the cinéma.

Vera Greenwood, The fourth and final shot—the one where the flash went off. Note the illuminated pole on the right. Sophie Calle et al are just a blur in front of a door, heading toward the right of the picture.

Vera Greenwood, The Jeanne Moreau calling card used to phone Sophie Calle on the evening of January 23, 1998.

Vera Greenwood, Donning a disguise at the rue Étienne-Dolet métro station, Malakoff.

Credit: Kevin Gibbs.

Vera Greenwood, Sophie Calle’s studio/appartement—146 boulevard Camelinat, Malakoff.

Vera Greenwood, Chez Sophie Calle, front door buzzer panel.

Vera Greenwood, Duluc Detective Agency—18 rue du Louvre.

Vera Greenwood, Duluc Detective Agency—18 rue du Louvre.

View of the exhibition Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle, VOX, from November 15, 2002 to January 19, 2003.

Credit: Denis Farley.

View of the exhibition Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle, VOX, from November 15, 2002 to January 19, 2003.

Credit: Denis Farley.

View of the exhibition Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle, VOX, from November 15, 2002 to January 19, 2003.

Credit: Denis Farley.
2002.11.15 - 2003.01.19

Vera Greenwood

Opening and book launch November 15, 2002

ANNE BÉNICHOU

During a stay in Paris in the winter of 1997–98, Vera Greenwood undertook a strange activity: she began to tail the French artist Sophie Calle. This project extends the strategies of Calle, who bases her art practice on incursions into the private life of unknown people chosen by chance and without their knowing. Greenwood was referring specifically to La filature, a photographic and textual work relating the tailing of Calle, in 1981, by a private detective hired by the artist’s mother, at the artist’s own request; the detective did not know that Calle knew he was following her.

The Hôtel Soficalle1 project reports, with a delicious mastery of narrative, on Greenwood’s adventures in Paris. She first retraced the itinerary that Calle took in 1981 by photographing the sites “without Sophie.” Then, during the première of No Sex Last Night, a film by Calle and Greg Shephard, Greenwood managed to take a number of pictures of Calle. But the untimely flare of the flashbulb gave her away: Calle caught sight of the spy, and Greenwood had to start to use disguises. She then went to the Duluc detective agency (the one that Calle’s mother had done business with), where the owners, taken aback to learn that they had participated, seventeen years before, in a post-conceptual artwork, let her look at their client’s file, even though it was confidential. Greenwood supports her account with numerous pieces of evidence: black-and-white photographs and objects resulting from the adventure. She presents it all in a traditional museological mode: glass cases, didactic wall panels, and a numbering system organize the viewer’s visit.

What can we draw from the hypertext of La filature? Greenwood, with her unique way of not taking herself seriously, intends to flush out Calle’s lies and omissions. Certain buildings that the French artist mentions have mysteriously disappeared. Her studio, located on Rue d’Ulm, is in reality the Institut Curie, of which her father was the director. The account of the detective from the Duluc agency does not give the same version of the facts as does Calle’s account. By exposing the pretense of these reflections, the considerable effort that they necessitated, and the impossibility – even uselessness – of verifying them, Greenwood shows that it is futile to wonder whether La filature and, by extension, L’hôtel Soficalle are true stories.

Greenwood also creates a mischievous reversal of the question of identity. La filaturequestions the role of the Other in the processes of constructing identity. Because she knows that she is being observed, Calle composes an image of herself that induces her itinerary. While L’hôtel Soficalle purports to be an “authentic” portrait of the French artist, who does not know that she is being watched, it is definitely Greenwood’s distortions that are actually the central subject of the work. Thus, she leaves her surveillance of Calle’s home to take pleasure in having herself photographed in her many disguises.

This project elaborates on the major issues in Greenwood’s recent work. In 1997,Inside Out emphasized the importance of the regard and the models of others in the definition of identity; the following year, High Ground explored the share of invention in the autobiographical account. In L’hôtel Soficalle, the quotation of La filature allows the artist to question her own artistic approach. It is however, with modesty and critical distance that Greenwood conducts this examination. She does not try to rival the brazenness of her French colleague. Her gaffes and clumsy moves accumulate. She naively borrows investigation techniques from the popular detective novels by the American author Sue Grafton, several of whose books she integrates into the exhibition. By adopting an “anti-heroic” attitude, Greenwood deconstructs the stereotypes of detective literature and the characters that populate it. She also encourages us to question the way in which Calle exploits this literary tradition.

1. Composite of the names of the French artist and the Sofitel hotel chain.

 

This text is publish with the courtesy of the author and CV photo, #54, 2001, p. 32.

Biography

Vera Greenwood

Vera Greenwood

Vera Greenwood was born and raised in Calgary and now lives in the Gatineau Hills of Quebec. She has a diploma of visual arts from the Alberta College of Art and Design (Calgary) and a Master’s degree in…

Read more

Journal # 05 - 11.2003

Read the online journal for the exhibitions Vera Greenwood and Pascal Grandmaison

Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle

Vera Greenwood, Une pièce de collection – un gros plan complet de Sophie Calle.

Vera Greenwood, Mon premier poste d’observation à l’extérieur du cinéma.

Vera Greenwood, La quatrième et dernière photo – quand le flash s’est déclenché. Remarquez le poteau illuminé à droite. Sophie Calle et compagnie ne sont qu’un flou devant la porte, ils se dirigent vers la droite de l’image.

Vera Greenwood, La carte d’appel Jeanne-Moreau utilisée pour téléphoner à Sophie Calle le soir du 23 janvier 1998.

Vera Greenwood, J’enfile mon déguisement à la station de métro Étienne-Dolet à Malakoff.

Crédit : Kevin Gibbs.

Vera Greenwood, L’atelier-appartement de Sophie Calle – 146, boulevard Camelinat, Malakoff.

Vera Greenwood, Chez Sophie Calle, l’interphone de la porte avant.

Vera Greenwood, L’Agence de détectives Duluc, 18, rue du Louvre.

Vera Greenwood, L’Agence de détectives Duluc, 18, rue du Louvre.

Vue de l’exposition Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2002 au 19 janvier 2003

Crédit : Denis Farley.

Vue de l’exposition Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2002 au 19 janvier 2003

Crédit : Denis Farley.

Vue de l’exposition Vera Greenwood. L’hôtel Soficalle, VOX, du 15 novembre 2002 au 19 janvier 2003

Crédit : Denis Farley.
2002.11.15 - 2003.01.19

Vera Greenwood

Vernissage et lancement de livre le 15 novembre 2002

ANNE BÉNICHOU

Lors d’un séjour à Paris au cours de l’hiver 1997-1998, Vera Greenwood s’adonne à une étrange activité : elle prend en filature l’artiste Sophie Calle. La proposition reconduit les stratégies de cette artiste française qui fonde sa pratique artistique sur l’incursion dans la vie privée d’inconnus pris au hasard, et à leur insu. Greenwood réfère plus particulièrement à La filature, une œuvre photographique et textuelle relatant La filature de Calle, en 1981, par un détective privé engagé par la mère de l’artiste, sur la demande même de sa fille, le détective ignorant que Calle se savait suivie par lui.

Le projet L’hôtel Soficalle1 rapporte avec une délicieuse maîtrise de la narration les aventures de Greenwood à Paris. Greenwood refait d’abord l’itinéraire que Calle avait emprunté en 1981, en photographiant les lieux, « sans Sophie ». Puis, lors du lancement du film de Calle et Greg Shephard, No Sex Last Night, elle parvient à prendre plusieurs clichés de l’artiste française. Mais le déclenchement malencontreux du flash lui est fatal : Calle repère l’espionne et Greenwood doit dès lors se déguiser. Greenwood se rend ensuite à l’Agence de détectives Duluc (avec laquelle la mère de Calle avait fait affaire) où les patrons, éberlués d’apprendre qu’ils avaient participé dix-sept ans auparavant à une œuvre post-conceptuelle, la laissent consulter le dossier, pourtant confidentiel, de leur cliente. Greenwood appuie son récit par de nombreuses pièces à conviction : des photographies noir et blanc et des objets issus de l’aventure. Elle présente le tout selon un mode muséologique traditionnel : des vitrines, des panneaux didactiques et une numérotation organisant le parcours du spectateur.

Que peut-on comprendre de cet hypertexte de La filature ? Greenwood, avec sa façon singulière de ne pas se prendre au sérieux, s’attache à débusquer les mensonges et les omissions de Calle. Certains bâtiments que l’artiste française évoque ont mystérieusement disparu. L’atelier de Calle, situé rue d’Ulm, serait en réalité l’Institut Curie dont le père de l’artiste a été le directeur. Le compte rendu du détective de l’Agence Duluc ne donne pas la même version des faits que le récit de Calle. Par la dérision de ces réflexions, l’effort considérable qu’elles ont nécessité et l’impossibilité, voire l’inutilité, de les vérifier, Greenwood montre combien il est vain de se demander si La filature, et par extension L’hôtel Soficalle, sont des histoires vraies.

Greenwood opère également un retournement malicieux de la question identitaire. La filature interroge la part de l’autre dans les processus de construction de l’identité. Parce qu’elle se sait observée, Calle compose une image d’elle-même qui influence son itinéraire. Alors que L’hôtel Soficalle promet un portrait « authentique » de l’artiste française, celle-ci ne se sachant pas surveillée, ce sont en définitive les travestissements de Greenwood qui constituent le sujet central de l’œuvre. Ainsi, elle délaisse la surveillance du domicile de Calle pour s’adonner au plaisir de se faire photographier avec ses multiples déguisements.

On reconnaît là les enjeux majeurs de l’œuvre récente de Greenwood. En 1997, Inside Out soulignait l’importance du regard et des modèles des autres dans la définition de l’identité, tandis que l’année suivante, High Ground explorait la part d’invention dans le récit autobiographique. Dans L’hôtel Soficalle, la citation de La filature permet à l’artiste d’interroger sa propre démarche artistique. C’est toutefois avec modestie et distance critique qu’elle conduit cette opération. Greenwood ne cherche pas à rivaliser avec les hardiesses de sa collègue française. Elle multiplie les gaffes et les maladresses. Elle emprunte naïvement ses méthodes d’enquête au roman policier populaire, en l’occurrence à l’auteur américaine Sue Grafton, dont elle intègre plusieurs livres à l’exposition. En adoptant une attitude « anti-héroïque », Greenwood déconstruit les stéréotypes de la littérature policière et des personnages qui la peuplent. Elle nous incite aussi à interroger la façon dont Calle travaille cette tradition littéraire.

1. Composé des noms de l’artiste française et de la chaîne d’hôtels Sofitel.

 

Ce texte a été publié avec l’aimable permission de l’auteur et de CVphoto, n° 54, 2001, p. 32.

Biographie

Vera Greenwood

Vera Greenwood

Née à Calgary, où elle a grandi, Vera Greenwood vit aujourd’hui dans la vallée de la Gatineau, au Québec. Elle a obtenu un diplôme en arts visuels au Alberta College of Arts and Design (Calgary)…

Lire plus

Journal # 05 - 11.2003

Consultez le journal des expositions Vera Greenwood et Pascal Grandmaison en ligne