Klaus Scherübel

Biography

The conceptual practice of Klaus Scherübel (born in Austria; lives in Montreal) offers a critical investigation of various systems and genres of cultural and symbolic production, ranging from the field of art and literature to theatre, cinema, television, and fashion. Via the multiple roles he adopts—editor, producer of a play, sponsor, artist at work—Scherübel becomes an active agent of the systems he studies and expounds upon. In his often text-based works, using media as diverse as photography, video, painting, installation, publication, and exhibition, Scherübel questions the nature of artistic activity, its representations, its conditions of production, as well as its reception. Echoing the structural organization of a multi-volume book, Scherübel has in recent years presented his work in the form of so-called “volumes,” dedicating them to art works, project-based work, exhibitions, and publications alike.

Recent solo and group exhibitions were hosted at, among others: Museum der Moderne Salzburg, Salzburg (2018); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2016); Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz (2016); Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery, SBC Gallery of Contemporary Art and VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine, Montreal (2016); mumok – Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna (2015, 2012); BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts, Brussels (2015); Centro Universitário Maria Antonia USP, São Paulo (2014); Belvedere 21er Haus, Vienna (2013); Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes, Nîmes (2012); Silver Flag, Montreal (2011); Musée régional de Rimouski, Rimouski (2010); S.M.A.K., Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst, Ghent (2009); MoMA PS1, New York (2009); Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2009); Darling Foundry, Montreal (2008); and Generali Foundation, Vienna (2008). Scherübel is the editor of Mallarmé, The Book.

Exhibition

“Créer à rebours vers l’exposition”: The case of the Automatist exhibitions
2019.05.15 - 07.13

The “artistic reactivations” of the second Automatist exhibition (1947) and the Mousseau-Riopelle Exhibition at Muriel Guilbault’s (1947) by Klaus Scherübel are the last two iterations of VOX’s research project on the history of exhibitions in Québec, “Créer à rebours vers l’exposition”,  begun in 2016.

Read more

Exhibition

Putting Rehearsals to the Test
2016.09.01 - 11.26

Exhibition curated by Sabeth Buchmann, Ilse Lafer and Constanze Ruhm and presented at VOX in partnership with Leonard & Bina Ellen Art Gallery and SBC galerie d’art contemporain.

Read more

Exhibition

Tractatus Logico-Catalogicus
2008.11.06 - 12.13

An object of documentation, registration, mediation, reflection, promotion and valorization, the exhibition catalogue plays a crucial role…

Read more

Exhibition

Life in Real Time. Slow Motion
2002.03.22 - 05.26

The inaugural event Life in Real Time is intended to initiate a questioning of the social environment to which current artistic practices…

Read more

Klaus Scherübel

Biographie

La pratique conceptuelle de Klaus Scherübel (né en Autriche, vit à Montréal) propose une investigation critique de différents systèmes et genres associés à la production culturelle et symbolique incluant le champ de l’art et de la littérature, le théâtre, le cinéma, la télévision et la mode. Par l’intermédiaire des multiples fonctions qu’il adopte – l’éditeur, le producteur d’une pièce de théâtre, le commanditaire, l’artiste au travail – Scherübel devient un agent actif des systèmes qu’il étudie et qu’il expose. Dans ses œuvres de nature souvent textuelle, utilisant des médias aussi divers que la photographie, la vidéo, la peinture, l’installation, la publication et l’exposition, Scherübel interroge l’activité artistique, ses représentations, ses conditions de production ainsi que sa réception. En référence à un livre en multiples composantes, ses réalisations sont désormais organisées en « volumes », incluant aussi bien la production d’œuvres d’art et des interventions spécifiques, que des expositions ou des publications.

Parmi les lieux ayant accueilli ses expositions individuelles et collectives récentes, mentionnons: Museum der Moderne Salzburg, Salzbourg (2018); Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (2016); Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien, Graz (2016); Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen, SBC Galerie d’art Contemporain et VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine, Montréal (2016); mumok – Museum Moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienne (2015, 2012); BOZAR – Palais des Beaux-Arts, Bruxelles (2015); Centro Universitário Maria Antonia USP, São Paulo (2014); Belvedere 21er Haus, Vienne (2013); Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes, Nîmes (2012); Silver Flag, Montréal (2011); Musée régional de Rimouski, Rimouski (2010); S.M.A.K., Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst, Gand (2009); MoMA PS1, New York (2009); Badischer Kunstverein, Karlsruhe (2009); Fonderie Darling, Montréal (2008); and Generali Foundation, Vienne (2008). Scherübel est l’éditeur de Mallarmé, Le livre.

Exposition

Créer à rebours vers l'exposition : le cas des expositions automatistes
2019.05.15 - 07.13

Les « réactivations artistiques » de la seconde exposition des automatistes (1947) et de l’exposition Mousseau-Riopelle chez Muriel Guilbault (1947) par Klaus Scherübel constituent les deux derniers volets du projet de recherche sur l’histoire des expositions au Québec, Créer à rebours vers l’exposition, entrepris par VOX en 2016.

Lire plus

Exposition

La répétition mise à l’épreuve
2016.09.01 - 11.26

Exposition collective organisée par Sabeth Buchmann, Ilse Lafer et Constanze Ruhm et présentée à VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine en partenariat avec la Galerie Leonard & Bina Ellen et SBC galerie d’art contemporain. 

Lire plus

Exposition

Tractatus Logico-Catalogicus
2008.11.06 - 12.13

Objet de documentation, de recensement, de médiation, de réflexion, de promotion et de valorisation, le catalogue d’exposition joue un…

Lire plus

Exposition

La vie en temps réel. Mode ralenti
2002.03.22 - 05.26

L’événement inaugural La vie en temps réel souhaite initier un questionnement sur l’environnement social auquel les pratiques artistiques actuelles sont soumises…

Lire plus